1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Weird GOW2 problem

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by chsvee, Mar 28, 2007.

  1. chsvee

    chsvee Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    First, I am sorry to bring you yet another God of War II problem thread, but I could not find an answer to this problem.

    I have Swap Magic 2.0 I believe, and use it with CD/DVDloader, so I can get most games running. I downloaded part 1 of God of War II. Yes, downloaded, as it's not released before April here in Norway, but it's a definite buy for me. Anyways, I played through to the Great Chasm, and as usual the game froze, as Part 1 only contains the first layer, fair enough. The problem is, I downloaded Part 2 and burned it the exact same way I burned Part 1, but when I load from the Great Chasm, the same thing happens, the game freeze. I might have downloaded part 1 again, but it clearly says 2nd layer, and it seems as if all the people commenting the torrent got it to work. I've downloaded 4 different Part 2's now, but NONE of them works. Same thing happens as in Part 1.

    Any ideas at all?

    Thanks a bunch!
     
  2. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Well, you could just get the DVD5 release that was shrunk down to fit on a standard DVD. there is a release by HYdRO that i am sure will work. If you have a mod chip there is also the ECHELON release that id DVD9 and can be burned to a dual layer disc. I know people who have played it all the way through and it worked fine. But the mod chip has to be a DMS4 Pro chip, or you can patch the ISO with Toxic DL Patcher and play it on any modchip that can play DVD9 originals.
     
  3. raiden25

    raiden25 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hello i got this copy from someone its a dvd9 copy
    but when i put it on the pc and the explorer only see 3.87gb+ then when i view it on dvd decryptor or nero its see 8.0 gb +

    btw if a make an image on the pc and i'll re burn it do i need to patch the game with toxic patch?
     
  4. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    your PC is only reading the first layer which is why it looks small.
    And if you have a chip that will play DVD9 Original games that is not a DMS4 Pro chip then yes, you will need to patch it. The DMS4 Pro is the only one i know that has built in support to play DVD9 back up games.
     
  5. raiden25

    raiden25 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    my ps2 is modded i can play the game but some say it will not continue on the 2nd layer..

    so do i need to make an .iso of this then reburn it??and add the patch because my chip is not dms4...

    is that right??

    sorry for my english
     
  6. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    yes, if you do not have a DMS4 Pro you need to patch the game before you brun it.
     
  7. raiden25

    raiden25 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks
    i'll try it later
     
  8. raiden25

    raiden25 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i applied the patch then is report ok
    burned cd = but the explorer still sees it 3.97gb and in apache 2 when i tried to change layer it status window is only for dvd9 etc.

    in .iso file of gow when i change its layer it can see the part2.pak in apache 2 program..

    but when i boot is works well on the ps2
     
  9. Blades

    Blades Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi

    Sorry to bring this problem so late for GOW 2.
    I am unable to find a solution to my problem.

    I have a GOD OF WAR 2 disc which does not play after the great chasm.

    There were two methods to fix the problem -
    a) DVD9 to DVD5 in which I was successful in creating (BUT THE MOVIES ARE OF VERY BAD QUALITY) and it works after the great chasm
    b) Patching the DVD9 ISO with toxic dual layer patcher.

    I WANT TO HAVE THE DVD9 version

    I read that I have to make an ISO and patch it up with toxic dual layer patcher.

    So I made an ISO using DVD Decrypter. Two files have been created -
    1)GOD OF WAR.ISO - 7.94 GB
    2)GOD OF WAR.MDS - 9 KB
    I patched the ISO file with toxic patch and it was successful

    The problem is I cannot change the book type to DVD-ROM from DVD+R DL in DVD Decrypter or Imageburn. I went to drive to tools-drive-change book type-Samsung tab in Imageburn {DVD decryter does not have an option for Samsung drives - I have a Samsung DVD writer which supports dual layer burning.(TSSTcorp CD/DVDW TS-H552U US03 (ATA)}

    I changed for drive (DVD R+ DL Media)
    The current setting was unknown (And when I selected the above media it changed to Unknown (Drive doesn't report it)
    New setting to DVD-ROM
    Hit change and it said success and I hit ok

    But the setting is still the same like this -
    TSSTcorp CD/DVDW TS-H552U US03 (ATA)
    Current Profile: DVD+R DL

    Disc Information:
    Status: Empty
    Erasable: No
    Free Sectors: 4,173,824
    Free Space: 8,547,991,552 bytes
    Free Time: 927:32:74 (MM:SS:FF)
    Supported Write Speeds: 2.4x

    DVD±R DL Boundary Information:
    L0 Data Zone Capacity: 2,086,912
    Changeable: Yes

    Physical Format Information (ADIP):
    Disc ID: RITEK-D01-01
    Book Type: DVD+R DL
    Part Version: 1
    Disc Size: 120mm
    Maximum Read Rate: Not Specified
    Number of Layers: 2
    Track Path: Opposite Track Path (OTP)
    Linear Density: 0.293 um/bit
    Track Density: 0.74 um/track
    First Physical Sector of Data Area: 196,608
    Last Physical Sector of Data Area: 16,580,607
    Last Physical Sector in Layer 0: 2,283,519

    Physical Format Information (Last Recorded):
    Disc ID: RITEK-D01-01
    Book Type: DVD+R DL
    Part Version: 1
    Disc Size: 120mm
    Maximum Read Rate: Not Specified
    Number of Layers: 2
    Track Path: Opposite Track Path (OTP)
    Linear Density: 0.293 um/bit
    Track Density: 0.74 um/track
    First Physical Sector of Data Area: 196,608
    Last Physical Sector of Data Area: 16,580,607
    Last Physical Sector in Layer 0: 2,283,519

    I selected the ISO file and I got a message saying "You should have selected the MDS file and not this one. I will do it automatically this time but don't do it again". And the MDS file gets selected.********(In Nero 6 i can select the ISO file????)
    I burned the image thinking that once the disc is burnt, after burning it would be booktype DVD-ROM.
    But it does not even after burning. It is the same - DVD+R DL
    I loaded the game into my PS2 and it shows me the red screen saying to insert PS2 format disc.

    I used a good quality DVD+R dual layer disc to burn the image at 2.4x speed.

    I searched google and Afterdawn for similar problems.
    I read that NVidia drivers cause problems and the ide channel supporting the DVD burner should be deleted (I have Nvidia Geforce 256MB card) which I did
    I also read that I have to change the settings in Nero CD-DVD speed Info tool under options from disc type to book type which I did
    But still have the same problem of not setting the booktype

    Please help as I have not played the DVD5 version as the movies are bad.

     

Share This Page