1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Weird Matrix infinity Problems

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by bboy_flex, Nov 19, 2004.

  1. bboy_flex

    bboy_flex Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have some really weird problems going on with my matrix infinity. The ps2 boots up to the browser screen normally but when i put in a backup dvd game it freezes. When i put in an original game is says that this is not a original ps2 game. When i put a movie in it doesnt load. If i put a backup dvd game and press eject, the ps2 loads and goes to a black screen. The really wierd thing is that i put in my swap magic dvd and it LOADED! then i swapped it with my burned game, AND THE GAME WORKED! how messed up is that. Do you guys have any idea as to what is happening?
     
  2. bigmac999

    bigmac999 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    bboy_flex, just replied to your pm, but reading this thread gives me a couple of ideas.
    Are your connections to the BIOS pins in the right order and good connections/no bridges? Also are points G,H,I connected to the right pins and with good connections/no bridges.
    Is your Infinity the Home Brew version by any chance?
     
  3. bigmac999

    bigmac999 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ANother thing, after loading swap magic, do backup games, original games and movies all work?
     
  4. bboy_flex

    bboy_flex Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  5. bboy_flex

    bboy_flex Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Now that i am thinking, the chip might be homebrew. It doesnt show me the "infinity options" and i also cant seem to put the chip in sleep mode. I just gotta find a way to put the firmware onto my memorycard. I hope thats the reason atleast.
     
  6. bigmac999

    bigmac999 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Looks like you've got the full version looking at your link.
    A couple of things I would try:
    1. Check see if originals and movies work with swap magic. If they do then I think that would suggest there is a problem with the wiring at the BIOS points.
    2. When swap magic boots, does it say 'Matrix Infinity v1.x' underneath 'Playstation 2' in small writing. If so, this would suggest that the modchip is at least powering up.
    3. Switch on your PS2 using reset button, whilst holding 'Start' on Joypad 1. Does it say 'Matrix Infinity Disabled' on screen instead of going to browser. If so this shows that the modchip is working.
     
  7. bboy_flex

    bboy_flex Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    No it doesnt say anywhere that the modchip is disabled. Also it doesnt say "matrix infinity x1 underneath the ps2 symbol.
     
  8. bigmac999

    bigmac999 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It doesnt seem the chip is working. I would have thought the problem lies with one of the connections being poor connection, connected to wrong pin or short/bridged pin.
    Check in particular BIOS connections and points B,G,I.
    Also make sure your GND and 3.3v connections are good and the wires are as short as possible.
     
  9. bboy_flex

    bboy_flex Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I dont think its my bios connections because i put little peices of paper between them to ensure that there would be no bridging. I suppose it could be my v3.3 cable, i saw it was getting a little pinched when i was putting the metal plate over the mother board. I will recheck everything tomorrow, im very tired right now and will check tomorrow. Thanks for your help, i will keep you posted.
     
  10. bboy_flex

    bboy_flex Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i changed my v3.3 connection and i am just about to change my ground cable aswell. I checked all the other connections and they seem fine, no bridging, i put a razor blade between them and it went through just fine. My W wire seems to be pinched, could the problem lie within the W connection? I will change it to make sure. Does anyone know what the W connection is for?
     
  11. bigmac999

    bigmac999 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Not sure what its for, but something to do with the BIOS I think.
     
  12. bboy_flex

    bboy_flex Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well still nothing. I have only one idea left, to rewire the points B, G, I, and H but this time put them in the via holes. I just don't get it. Also do u have any pointers on using desolder braid as i am afraid up applying too much heat to the chip legs.
     
  13. bboy_flex

    bboy_flex Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have no idea what the problem is anymore. I cleaned any possible bridges, moved the B,G,I, and H points to the via holes and still nothing. The ps2 barely even goes to the browser screen now. And the only thing that can still load is my swap magic. The really shocking thing is that my chip isnt even detected. I changed the power and ground cables 3 times. Is it possibel that i haave a faulty chip? What are the chances of recieving a bad chip?
     
  14. bboy_flex

    bboy_flex Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ok, i have decided to go and buy a multi meter to see if all my connections are good. The thing i want to know is what the read out should be on the multi meter with the the connection is good/bad.
     
  15. bigmac999

    bigmac999 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If its a good connection the resistance of the wire will be very low, less than an ohm I think. If its a poor connection the resistance will be high. Some multimeters come with a continuity check, which when the probes are put on either end of a wire, will beep if its a good wire.
     
  16. bigmac999

    bigmac999 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Have you tried e-mailing the Matrix team explaining your problem, they may be able to help. I had a problem after I installed my Infinity and they were quite helpful.
     
  17. bboy_flex

    bboy_flex Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yeah i e-mailed them adn they said that i might have a homebrew infinity. So i downloaded the latest firmware and when i tried to flash my chip it would only say "flash failed". My only option now is to get a numtimeter and test my points.
     
  18. bigmac999

    bigmac999 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    So if it says flash failed, it sounds like your chip is sort of working.
     
  19. bboy_flex

    bboy_flex Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well not exactly flash failed, more like programming failed, i thought that my chip is working seeing how i can't disable it or play any games at all.
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2004
  20. dvdps2

    dvdps2 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    HOw do you write to a certain person?
     

Share This Page