1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Well, Am I a newbie...

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by PierreDo, Sep 30, 2004.

  1. PierreDo

    PierreDo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi

    My question is: is there a way to play backed-up PS2 games on a PS2 without a modchip or some kind of flip-flop tip-top slider thingie. I mean a boot disc and a regular ps2. I am quite confused by all the different suggestions on the forum. Therefore this simple question.

    Thanks
     
  2. notmyname

    notmyname Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Simple answer: NO.

    Easiest/cheapest solution: Fliptop with Swapmagic disc
     
  3. PierreDo

    PierreDo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok

    So where can i by the flip-top and the swap magic disc?

    By the way, I have the 3004-model.

    Thanks
     
  4. notmyname

    notmyname Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  5. PierreDo

    PierreDo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well, It's either a V 1,2,3 or 4. There are 10 screws on the bottom so that points to a V 1,2 or 3. But the model number points to a version 4, but the lack of a screw inside the expansion bay and the lack of an electrical hazard warning points to it not being version 4. So I'm a bit unsure. Will the version 4-7 flip top work with my ps2 if it is a version 1,2 or 3 ?
     
  6. Icemonkey

    Icemonkey Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    If you have 10 screws it's definitely a v1-3 machine. v1-4 machines all have the same model #'s which is probably what is confusing you and no, you must buy a flip-top designed to fit a v1-3 machine.
     
  7. PierreDo

    PierreDo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok, thanks. Now, is it a good or a bad thing that i have an older model? Where can i buy a flip-top for my PS2? The shop above has only for v4 and upwards. Also, does swap magic 3.2 work with old models?

    Thank you very much for the help
     
  8. Icemonkey

    Icemonkey Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Older models seem to have more problems reading cheaper media than newer ones. Swap Magic 3.2 will work fine. Not sure where to get a flip-top for that model personally.
     

Share This Page