1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What are my options?

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by Xeno360, Feb 22, 2008.

  1. Xeno360

    Xeno360 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Im looking to mod my ps2 "Slim" Without installing a mod chip. What is the best way to go, what will i need and around how pricey will it be to do so?

    Some one said i can use swap-magic, or HDLoader. Im not familiar with either of them, Or whats compatible with what. So any information on what to get and how to do so. Would be appreciated. Thanks :).
     
  2. HG27

    HG27 Guest

    Swapmagic is definately your best option. V3.6 is around $30 while v3.8 is around $40.

    Though with the slimline's you have to block the 3 sensors in order to 'swap' out our swapmagic disc with a backup. This can be done with magic keys, flip-top, or the card board and straw mod.

    HD loader is out the question unless your ps2 is a v12/v13.
    Check what version ps2 you have by using the link in my sig.
     
  3. Xeno360

    Xeno360 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I was thinking, all a flip top is, is basically a regular case with the opening to open to get the disk out, but so the ps2 still reads that tha lid is down, correct? Is it possible to do a self mod? Example...

    Take the top off and use power tools to cut out a circle a little bigger then a cd. this would allow me to do the same this as a flip top, and at the same time, be able to watch me cd spin, right? xDD.
     
  4. HG27

    HG27 Guest

    Correct. Though you shouldn't try it unless you feel comfortable doing so. I would recommend practicing on some old consoles like PS1, SNES, etc.
     
  5. Xeno360

    Xeno360 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Okay so im about6 to buy swap magic, But, how do i make copys of ps2 games? I mean... is it as simple as burning the img? Ive read many tutorials, some say u can use dvd decrypter others are pages long, Whats the right way to... "Rip" it into an iso, then burn it? So it is compatible with swap magic. Thnx :).
     
  6. Stabby

    Stabby Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If you're like me and have a Dell computer, you can use Sonic Record Now which came with my machine. Use the "Exact Copy" option and TADA!!! Easy as pie!
     
  7. HG27

    HG27 Guest

    For most games:
    Rip the image of a game with DVD Decrypter, then burn the image to a blank DVD-R (good quality media) @4X with Imgburn, not DVD Decrypter.

    Reason I said most is that some games (God of war) are double layered. So Swapmagic won't play them. For these games:
    Rip the image then rebuild the image so that it will fit on a single layer DVD, then burn it.
     
  8. Xeno360

    Xeno360 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Can i rip a game that is originally a blue back? Or is that dual layer?
     
  9. Xeno360

    Xeno360 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  10. HG27

    HG27 Guest

    Blue back games are CD-ROM's and can be ripped, but not with DVD Decryptor. For cd games you will need a program capable of rippping data off a cd-rom (clone cd, isobuster, magiciso).

    This is what I found out about ps2covers.com
    It looks like it isnt a good site to buy from. Only got a 1.25/10

    That is the correct version of Swapmagic to go with. There is also a v3.8 out (coder version), but the only big difference is the ability to use cheat codes on backup games.

    As for your ps2 version, it won't matter since your going with the flip-top solution.
     
  11. Xeno360

    Xeno360 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Does swap magic do anything else? Let you play emulators and roms for older systems? (Like i can do with my xbox)
     
  12. HG27

    HG27 Guest

    Yep, it can do that as well. Swap magic is just the handiest boot disc you'll find around.
     
  13. glitchzoo

    glitchzoo Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hi all,
    i have a slim line ps2 and im not sure whats gone wrong with my dvd drive (basically all the information about is on this forum http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/637840 )
    I think the lens might have broken or something but because ps2 is getting old i cant really be bothered replacing the lens. So i was wondering is there any other alternative way to load my games onto the ps2? like via a usb hard drive or something? and does it require the dvd drive to boot up anything because i cant :p
    thanks,
    glitchzoo
     
  14. HG27

    HG27 Guest

    You can load games off a USB HD regardless of your ps2 version. Though if you want to load off an IDE HD your ps2 must be a v12 or v13.

    You will need to boot some sort of media to use either of the programs at hand. USB Extreme (USB HD) or HD Loader (IDE HD). Either Independece Exploit, Swapmagic, Retail discs, Action replay, etc.

    The other option for loading up either of these programs would be to load the .elf file of said program. Either through DEV1 (booting off MC) mode or DEV2 (booting off HD) mode.
    Note: your system must be equipped with a modchip that supports DEV1/DEV2.
    This method will work for sure for using a USB HD. Though I've read posts that say if you want to use a IDE HD on a slim (V12/V13), you will need a DMS4 Pro chip. As it is the only chip that will support use of a HD on a slim.

    Hope this helps you out.


     
  15. glitchzoo

    glitchzoo Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hmmm OK well what about a hardrive such as this http://www.ebuyer.com/product/131331 would that count as a usb hardrive? although i think it has an IDE hardrive inside. and if it does i can use this as a ps2 game storage device and a general storage device for my computer at the same time?
    and what specific mod chip do you recommend then? if it helps my ps2 model number is scph-70003 which i think is a version 13 (correct me if im wrong)

    and just in case your wondering i have a 360 its just i occasionally like to play my old ps2 games etc :D

    thanks for the help so far much appreciated!!!
     
  16. HG27

    HG27 Guest

    Your system is a v13 indeed. As for that hard drive you mentioned, it looks good to me as the interface on it is USB.

    Though I highly recommend you not go with USB. Often times it will be slower than loading from the original disc. Also compatibility is not as good as with HD Loader.

    Since you have a v13 you can install something called HD Connect or HD Combo. Check this link out. It is what you need to connect an IDE hard drive to your ps2. For chips I can recommend DMS4 Pro, Crystal chip, Matrix infinity, and Duo 3 ultra (since it is cheap and supports DEV1/DEV2).

    Like I said though, I'm pretty sure that if you want to use an IDE HD you will have to use a DMS4 Pro. I remember a member on Teammodders saying that it is the only chip that will support use of the HD on a slim.

    I too have a 360, but the ps2 just has so many cool games out for it.

     
  17. glitchzoo

    glitchzoo Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hmm ok
    but in theory all games on the usb should work? even if they take ages loading?
    because i might just go for a usb hardrive because that means i can use it with my pc storage as well :D
    that hd combo does look quite good and id get it if you could get it in crystal because i wanna get the crystal case for it :p but i think i might just stick to the usb hardrive and the duno 3 ultra.
    do you know of any good trusted suppliers for the duno 3 ultra in the uk? and if im right is it about £10 which shouldn't be a problem lol.
    and if i buy one will everything come with it? i.e solder it in correct place (using online tutorial) and then just turn on?

    and one last question is my ps2 laser do u know whats wrong with that? iv described all the problems in this thread http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/637840 and is it just a case of replacing the laser.. if you know?

    sorry for all the questions :p thanks so far you've been a great help :)
     
  18. HG27

    HG27 Guest

    Here is a compatibility list of games that are working for USB extreme.

    Here is a compatibility list of games that are not working for USB Extreme.

    So not all games will work. Not sure of reliable suppliers in the UK. I'm based in the US, I have ordered from modchipcentral (canada) and they are reliable. Not sure if they ship worldwide though.
    Recently ordered two duo 3 ultra chips from a place called mod-chip.bz (thailand). I'm pretty sure though that they ship worldwide.

    Got my chips in like 2 weeks though. At least the chips were nicely priced though. Cost me like $17 per chip, so around $40 total £20.

    I will check to see if the suppliers do or not ship worldwide.
     
  19. glitchzoo

    glitchzoo Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ah thanks! you've been a real help :)
    so that's cheap then im guessing the shipping isn't much if the mod chips are only about £10 each. so what ill do anyway is buy one of the chips and buy an external hd which will come in use for a variety of things as well as the ps2 :)
     
  20. Xeno360

    Xeno360 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Lol, dude, goto ebay and buy a ps2 "fat" im sure if theres one on there its gotta be cheeeap! I just recently bought a brand new ps2 slim for a 100 bucks. That way you dont have to worry about eye troubles and you can go and use an IDE HD and not worry about slow loading... or for that matter skipping. xD. I figured out some things with usb hd.. and how to get it to work, And games that i got to work lets just say... didnt work all that well ;). Anyways good luck! :).

    (Thats just my suggestion)


    btw... playing Super mario 3 on PLAYSTATION 2!!! Deff rox! I thought it was cool being on my xbox but ps2 just seems to make everything better! haha.
     

Share This Page