1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

what are the functional differences between a real wiikey and a clone?

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by fionel, Apr 5, 2007.

  1. fionel

    fionel Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I boot up the Wiikey setup disc and tried playing with the settings (audio fix, dvd drive speed) but noticed that they're not saving, as in everytime I boot up the setup disc the settings are reset to default, so I'm suspecting I have a clone here... I havent really had any problems with it so far except not being able to boot a couple of games (Excite truck and trauma center) but I believe its more to do with the isos themselves than the chip.

    All that aside, I would like to know, what really are the differences between the real thing and a clone?
     
  2. naivri

    naivri Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The disc doesnt read your setting from the chip, so it always has the same settings when it boots up

    It only send the commands to the chip, so no matter what you have saved on the chip, it will always say the same when you boot the disc up
     
  3. fionel

    fionel Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Actually some of my gamecube games will crash running on the Wii if I dont change the dvd rom speed to 3x in the config menu, and I need to do that every time i play those games or else they will crash which leads me to believe that the settings arent being saved at all... would that be a problem with clones?
     
  4. naivri

    naivri Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    it could be

    easiest way to test it is with the region override

    set it to on and then try wii imports

    turn it offm then on again and try again

    i have official wiikey from eurasia (guaranteed to not be a clone...official reseller (who are actually round the corner from the wiikey manufacturing plant)) and it stores the settings fine
     
  5. dazila

    dazila Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Id love to see a modchip manufacturing plant bet ya its a hous ewith 3 guys in the garage.
    LOL!
     
  6. JspOt

    JspOt Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I've installed a clone on a wii and the region changes do in fact work. This leads me to believe this is the reason why they are waiting so long to release a firmware update for the wiikey because of these clones.
     

Share This Page