1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

what box do i need

Discussion in 'Digital TV - UK & Europe' started by deiseman, Jul 1, 2012.

  1. deiseman

    deiseman Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i have just bought a cyfra plus card for the premier league what box do i need to view it and how big a dish thanks in in the southeast of ireland
     
  2. fintannl

    fintannl Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    48
    wow, you kinda jumped the gun on that one. surely you would have asked those questions before you bought the card :). for starters cyfra transmits on hotbird at 13e and as such a standard sky dish can pick it up. secondly you will need the like of a dreambox running cccam+newcs to decode the card. the dm500 is the cheapest solution.
     
  3. reaper180

    reaper180 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    any links to where to get dm500,, is this the cheapest box out there
     
  4. fintannl

    fintannl Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    48
  5. darn24p

    darn24p Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    or a openbox s11 for 50 and its hd
     
  6. deiseman

    deiseman Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    d
    does that mean i need to have the internet ?
     
  7. fintannl

    fintannl Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    48
    openbox, while a decent box, cannot open cyfra by a long shot. no you do not need internet to open the card
     
  8. deiseman

    deiseman Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    okay so if i buy a dreambox i need to put software or an imag on it do i?if so where do i get the image /software
     
  9. fintannl

    fintannl Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    48
    wow, now took me ages to sort a tring card for my brother in his pub. for me who kinda knows this stuff took me two weeks to get it right
     
  10. fintannl

    fintannl Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    48
    pli is always the image of choice on a dm500
     
  11. deiseman

    deiseman Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    so is it that complicated to set up the box ?
     
  12. tongs007

    tongs007 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    78
    piopats tutorial thats been stickied more than a mans porno mag
     
  13. fintannl

    fintannl Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    48
    getting newcs and cccam to interoperate is somewhat complicated. google config files for this. it is not easy but if you understand linux structures it should only take a few days to figure the different files that need to be modified
     
  14. deiseman

    deiseman Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    is there any other way around this ?and if i manage to do it will it just need to be done the once?is it possibel to pay someone on here to do it
     
  15. fintannl

    fintannl Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    48
    no and no and no to all your questions. if you wish to learn then will help
     
  16. deiseman

    deiseman Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    okay in lehmans terms if possible please or a step by step guide is tht possible
     
  17. MICKAH

    MICKAH Active member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,764
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    98
    There are step by step guides on the dreambox already, just look at any post by PIOPAT and its in his sig, guides etc, but cart and horse spring to mind alright, I am sure Fint will help ya, put the coffee on its gonna be a long night he he he
     
  18. fintannl

    fintannl Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    48
    for starters you need to buy a box and load an image. i'm not going to waste my time explaining a process to someone only for them to decide its too complicated and not bothering to go ahead with this
     
  19. deiseman

    deiseman Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i will apreciate you taken the time to help me with this thanks
     
  20. JST1946

    JST1946 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If I had to go through all that trouble just to watch TV. I think I'd move to another country.
     

Share This Page