1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What Browser Do You Use?

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by Balable, Mar 22, 2005.

  1. Balable

    Balable Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    What Browser do you use and why?
     
  2. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    FireFox because it isn't IE :)
     
  3. venomX05

    venomX05 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    FIREFOX all the way!!!!

    Well...because it is alot safer to use than IE. With IE you have too many issues with Active X controllers, Java Pluggins, and so forth.

    Hackers and Virus writers LOVE to exploit these holes.

    Oh yeah, about Fire Fox, let's not forget about the tabbed browser window, increased security, no unnecessary options, and RSS Feed Indicator.

    Also, with you downloads, they are stored in a seperate section of your browser, so let's say you accidently erase the setup program, just go to your download menu, and unless you clean it out, they are still stored in there and you can remove them or keep a new copy in them for as long as you like.

    Seriously, though...that is just me. Try it for yourself and see if you like it.

    ;)
     
  4. wild77

    wild77 Guest

    Firefox because I like anything that is free and works better than Microsofts IE!
     
  5. venomX05

    venomX05 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    hehehe....that's pretty cool...you got it to rhyme!
     
  6. gain

    gain Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I also use Firefox. It's safe and fast browser. Using Firefox you can control browser's history, cache, cookies etc. much easier than Internet Explorer.
     
  7. venomX05

    venomX05 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Hey if you are looking for the whole package...here is what I use:

    Firefox (Well, you all already know this one)
    Thunderbird (Email program, supposedly better than Outlook)
    Sunbird (Calender program attached to Firefox)

    BTW, anyone use the skins with Firefox...?
     
  8. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I use the Noia 2.0 (eXtreme) theme :)
     
  9. venomX05

    venomX05 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Pretty cool, Neph....I am using the Pinball skin, haven't had a chance to check out the other ones though.
     
  10. ScubaBud

    ScubaBud Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I use IE2 since I finally just figured it out. I heard there is a newer version out, I think IE6. Is that true?
     
  11. ScubaBud

    ScubaBud Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Tapping fingers for a response! LOL

    edit, no sense of humor today...


    [​IMG]

    I also use Netscape 7.2 but I will now have to get Firefox also just to be one of the boys! <G>
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2005
  12. geestar20

    geestar20 Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I use Firefox 1.0.2 with no skins (Im boring)

    I don't pay much attention to IE or the updates for them so I havn't a clue -ScubaBud-

    Whats the deal with Opera in paying for a web its browser?
     
  13. venomX05

    venomX05 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Um...sort of.

    Apparently, from what I heard from Business Week, Microsoft isn't going to be releasing there newest version of IE till they launch Longhorn at the end of this year/beginning of next year.

    Sorry you had to wait so long! LOL! ;)

    Promise I will be quicker on the response time. :)

    BTW, I didn't know if you were kidding with the 2 or too, but I just got!

    @geestar20

    Come on! Spruce it up alittle! LOL!

     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2005
  14. ScubaBud

    ScubaBud Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    venomX05

    Thanks but you know I had to be kidding with ya since SP1 and SP2 had IE6 built in. I was just looking for a little reaction to a newbie statement, that’s all. :)



    So Firefox is really that good?

    I've setup default folders for all my temp files of IE6 and Netscape 7.2, have folder "0" and folder "1" as the dump, and also have shortcuts on my desktop for quick access to all Java downloads, to pull them off ASAP.
     
  15. venomX05

    venomX05 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Well there you go...I am the noob! LOL!

    You know it! And talk about fast...the only thing faster is a skeleton on a unicycle or a crazed dolphin who just ate someone! ;)
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2005
  16. ScubaBud

    ScubaBud Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    [​IMG]

    Of so now I have it, along with the other two, and I saw the newer themes, but I didn't see Neph's Noia 2.0 there. Is this something special or an older on in archives?

    Edit: Again a newbie question, did a search and now I have it. :) LOL
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2005
  17. venomX05

    venomX05 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Here you go...

    https://addons.update.mozilla.org/themes/showlist.php?application=firefox&version=1.0&os=Windows&numpg=10&pageid=5

    *EDIT*

    Your killing me here...LOL!
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2005
  18. ScubaBud

    ScubaBud Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I am sorry venom, it's just that I'm like a kid in a candy store. This one I can't get though. I loaded several themes and am currently using Noia 2.0 which is very similar to my Windows Desktop theme, which also is black and silver. I also imported just my IE favorites and everything is working fine but one thing. I went to test a midi file I have loaded in one of my website pages and it will not play in the Firefox browser. I searched through preferences, and advanced, but no luck. Any suggestions?

    Its got something to do with Quicktime PlugIn's which I have on IE.
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2005
  19. venomX05

    venomX05 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    It's cool...it was funny. LOL!

    Oh...and here you go.

    Yup! That is the slight problem. There are still some issues with Firefox in regards to the plugins and stuff. Don't know why the midi isn't working for you though, cause it isn't that much of a file. But you will have to check the pluggins section. Cause there are a crapload of them.

    *Update*

    Got your answer...

    http://forums.techguy.org/showthread.php?t=292604&page=5

    and,

    https://addons.update.mozilla.org/extensions/showlist.php?application=firefox&version=1.0&os=MacOSX&category=All

    oh yeah, and let's not forget this:

    https://pfs.mozilla.org/plugins/


    Hope this helps, if not, let me know what else you are looking for.

     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2005
  20. ScubaBud

    ScubaBud Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Thanks, but no luck. The plug-ins are now loaded, and show even with "about:plugins" loaded in the address bar. But not playing the midi file. I'll work with it later on.

    Thanks for you help :)
     

Share This Page