1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What capture software?

Discussion in 'Video capturing from analog sources' started by snwborder, Apr 21, 2005.

  1. snwborder

    snwborder Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I just installed my Hauppauge 250 and was wondering what free software I should use to capture my footage from my xbox so the footage is in a format that I can later edit.
     
  2. rebootjim

    rebootjim Active member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    WinTV2000 that came with the card, or most of the good PVR software.
    Try GB-PVR http://www.gbpvr.com
    All you need to do is connect the xbox, and then select the correct inputs in the capture software.
    It will be mpeg-2, because that's all the 250 does.
    Use the Ulead software that came with it to edit, or Nanopeg (also included) for simple cuts.
     
  3. snwborder

    snwborder Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well, it didnt come with any editing software because cause its a roselyn (sp) card. Would adobe premiere be a good program?
     
  4. snwborder

    snwborder Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I made these pictures concerning some questions I have:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2005
  5. rebootjim

    rebootjim Active member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Great stuff!

    Select Roslyn for the card type.
    Select Zap2it (for north america) for the TV guide, and set up an account (it's free), Leave as XMLTV for outside north america.

    source: Internal tuner.

    Quality is up to you. Each time you schedule a recording, it will use "Medium" by default. This is usually good.
    If you use Fastfind plugin (found here: http://www.bladerhq.com/pmwiki/pmwiki.php ) you can then choose any of the presets to record.
    Play with it.

    Leave it at "Variable".

    While at http://www.bladerhq.com/pmwiki/pmwiki.php look at some of the other skins and plugins. Heck, look at all of them. :)
    Some are excellent.
    More skins at: http://members.shaw.ca/dvdeo/ thanks to yours truly :)
     
  6. snwborder

    snwborder Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks a lot, but why would the source be interal tuner?
     
  7. rebootjim

    rebootjim Active member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Because the card has an internal tuner.
     
  8. snwborder

    snwborder Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I made these pictures to illustrate some of my questions, but ignore number 4:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2005
  9. rebootjim

    rebootjim Active member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    The settings are correct.
    There's channel listings, because it's hooked up to the internet, and has downloaded and installed the channel guide from zap2it.
    #3, not quite...
    On the SOURCE box...select however you have the Xbox hooked up to the card.
    Currently you have it as "Internal Tuner", which will give you TV, through the normal cable hookup to the card.
     

Share This Page