1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WHAT DOES THIS ERROR MESSAGE MEAN?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by TenMen, Nov 27, 2004.

  1. TenMen

    TenMen Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    im trying to make backups and so far my record is 8 for 22...i have nec 3500a drive (firmware updated), using ridata g04 disks,writing speed is x4 & using 1click dvd copy program to copy..
    and the 2 error messages are:
    1) Unable to start the write process - finalization skipped to preserve media
    2) WriteSector failed at sector 0 (16) - Code 06 29 00 [Unit attention, Power On or Bus device reset occured]

    ***lots of coasters
     
  2. zippyd

    zippyd Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    This is just a stab in the dark from error number 2, but are your screensaver and hibernate/stand-by functions disabled during your backups. Since backups take so long, screensavers kick on and or windows will put the pc in standby mode. Moving the mouse kicks everything back on. This could cause an error.

    Like I said, just my best guess here.
     
  3. TenMen

    TenMen Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i guess i forgot to mention that. yes everything is disabled
     
  4. zippyd

    zippyd Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Well then I'm at a loss. I'll see what else I can come up with and hope someone else picks this one up.
     
  5. TenMen

    TenMen Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thanx for trying buddy, and to bad about the notre dame game..
     
  6. LeoLeroy

    LeoLeroy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    TenMen, sorry to hear you're making so many coasters. That sucks!

    If you're using 321's Xcopy, you might find better answers in this forum.

    I think this is the right forum (???):

    http://forums.afterdawn.com/forum_view.cfm/78

    Good luck from another newbie!
     
  7. zippyd

    zippyd Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I'm not giving up yet.

    What setup do you have...Pc specs?

    What steps are you taking up to the point that you get the error?

    And before you end up with too many coasters, switch to RW discs so we can just rewrite if we keep getting errors. Save a bit o' $money.
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2004
  8. TenMen

    TenMen Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    HP Pavilion ze5570us,512 MB RAM, Intel Pentium 4-M 2.66 GHz CPU, 60g hd,nec 3500a drive...
    i backup using 1click dvd copy progam. the options are simple. if it fits on a standard dvd i do a straight copy, if it dosent,depending on the compression, i might take out some stuff like extras,languages etc..
    besides diabling everything its pretty straightforward..
     
  9. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    1) TenMen is using 1Click DVD Copy

    2) If (s)he were using DVDXCopy/321 software you would post here: http://dvdxcopy.afterdawn.com

    @TenMen,

    I would try a different method of backing up, to see if it's the software or if it's another problem like hardware. I would try to use DVD Shrink and DVD Decrypter.
     
  10. TenMen

    TenMen Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i will educate myself in those programs & re-try...
    thanx flip218
     
  11. zippyd

    zippyd Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Pheew!.....

    After doing a bit of reading and digging around on other forums I still didn't find anything to resolve the problem. I did find others with the same problem that had contacted the support department of 1click and the only thing that was mentioned was that support seems to think that something is causing it to time out. No actual solutions were provided.

    So as flip says give shrink and decrypter a try. Both are free.

    If I remember correctly 1click comes with CopytoDVD to use as it's burning engine. DVD Shrink will also use CopytoDVD to autoburn its output. You may try to use CopytoDVD and if you still get errors, we may have found our culprit.

    Here are some great resources for using DVDShrink......

    http://www.dvdshrink.info/guides.php

    http://www.afterdawn.com/guides/archive/dvd9_to_dvdr_with_dvd_shrink.cfm

    And a thread that covers a majority of answers to common beginner problems with Shrink and Decrypter.....
    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/105641

    **note**
    To use CopytoDVD to autoburn, When you click "backup" in dvd shrink, a new window pops up. The top tab "taget device" has a little flaming disc...beside this disc we click the dropdown arrow and select "ISO Image File and burn with Copy to DVD".
    I say to choose ISO because if copytodvd fails then we won't have to rerun "video ts files"(our other output choice) through shrink again to burn them since decrypter only burns an iso file.

    Good Luck!
     

Share This Page