1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What ever I try I cant do it

Discussion in 'Convert DVD to another format' started by zebbedy12, Mar 4, 2004.

  1. zebbedy12

    zebbedy12 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi guys

    ive tried using dvd x copy platinum, dvd shrink, dvd decrypter and probably a couple more but i forget. anyway, I cant seem to rip a dvd to back it up, dvd x copy says error - something data sector. shrink says i/o device fail. I have a NEC rw+/- A-1300.
    I would be glad of any help
     
  2. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116

    zebbedy,

    We're going to need just a tiny bit more information if we're going to be able to help you -

    Example:

    What OS do you have and what are your specs.

    What programs exactly are you using ? Versions ?

    Tell us what you're able to do and at what exact point you are bogged down ? -

    How many different DVD's have you tried ?

    Do you have the latest firmware upgrade ?

    What have you tried so far ? Closed down everything in msconfig ?

    How many rippers ? Burners ?

    Have you checked conflicting software ?

    Hardware ?

    Again, more info is needed :)

    Pete

     
  3. zebbedy12

    zebbedy12 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    right here goes,
    my OS is XP,I have tried DVD Shrink, DVD Decrypter Copy gold and platinum all latest versions, in every program I try I can start reading the DVD and at various points throughout the backup process, I get different error messages. With DVD X Copy it says UNABLE TO READ SECTOR --, With DVD Decrypt it says, i/o error device [1 : 0 : 0]_NEC DVD RW ND _ A 1.08 (D:\), scsi status 0 x 02 interpritation : check condition, CDB : 28 00 00 0B 63 00 00 00 01 00, Interpritation : READ (10)- Sector 746240, Sense Area F0 00 03 00 0B 63 00 0A 00 00 00 00 11 00 00 00 00 00, Inter : unrecovered read error. I have tried about 4 different DVDs and they all follow the same process but fail at different points. I dont know if my firmware is the latest version, i dont know much about that, but i do know that its version 1.08. as for closing things down i havent done any of that yet, dont want to mess up anything i dont have to. I have 1 DVD RW NEC ND 1300 A and one Liteon CD burner. I have also downloaded and asci layer I dont know what else to do. I hope that i gave enough info this time, and thanks in advance
     
  4. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116

    zebbedy12,

    What you told me - We're getting a little closer but not a lot -

    I still need you to go down the list for me -

    1. Your NEC 1300a Burner has the latest firmware = Good !
    2. You have tried ABOUT 4 DVD's.
    3. Both errors you've put down relate to the inability to read your DVD's.

    What I asked and you won't tell me -

    1. What are your PC's specs ? (2nd request) -waiting-
    Does it have a processor ?
    Will you tell me how fast is it ?
    Assuming it has some RAM, could you tell me how much ?
    Could you estimate how much hard drive space you have free ?

    2. What programs exactly are you using ? Versions ?
    It has DVD Xcopy. OK
    It has Decrypter. OK
    It has DVD Shrink. OK
    3. Have you checked conflicting software ? (2nd request)
    Does it have Roxio CD Creator ?
    Does it have Nero ?
    Does it have Interactual Player ?
    Does it have PC Friendly Player ?
    Anti-virus - Kazaa - Instant messenger - other
    Here is some help - http://dvdxcopy.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/49908


    What have you tried so far ? (2nd request)-waiting-
    Guess list -
    Have you tried playing the DVD prior to ripping ?
    When you tried using Decrypter, did you try File or ISO mode ?
    When you tried DVD Shrink, did you try it with or Decrypter ?
    Have you ever tried to clean your DVD's ?
    Have you ever tried to clean your laser lens ?
    Have you ever stopped using your computer while trying to rip and/or burn your DVD’s ?

    What do you refuse to try -
    Will not free resources (msconfig) !

    This tool will help check your DVD RW Drives - Please use it -
    http://www.dvdinfopro.com/

    General Information.

    Have you ever gotten far enough in your backup process to start to burn ?
    If so, what did you try to burn with ?
    What type (and name) of DVD disc are you using?

    Let me take just a second and try to explain what we do here - I come here on my own free time to try to help people with their problems. I DO NOT come here to re-type questions or be told -
    I did not ask you to “Mess things up”, I asked you to free up resources to see if it would help - it was something I could think of while working with zero information. I do not intend to continue with you like this, me guessing what you have - I have provided you with a check-off sheet, [bold]complete it and do the things that I have suggested[/bold] and put on your thinking cap and try to tell me things that might help me - it is your problem, act like you want me to help you fix it -

    Pete


    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]The “old man” Pete (ö¿ô)
    Compaq 8000, Pent 4 CPU 2.84GHz, 1GB RAM.
    340GB HD, 7200 (Maxtor 120, Western 200 & 20.
    4 Drives, JLMS DVD ROM, HP DVD Writer 200j,
    Nec 4X DVD RW ND-1300A & AXV CD/DVD-ROM.
    GeForce4 Ti 4200-128MB, OS– XP sp1.[/small]
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2004
  5. zebbedy12

    zebbedy12 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    sorry pete, i understand that u use ur free time for this, the thing is i have looked through the rforums and tried things that i thought would help, i know alot of things about computers, but dvd ripping is a new one for me to tackle, u must remember when u were a noob, trying things to get them to work, and when u were shown the way u didnt look back. well thats what im aiming for, i can share alot of knowledge with the members of this forum i just need a leg up to get started, so i do apologise for my ignorance to it, and i hope to be able to help ppl when im in the position to do so. ill send another thread with ur requests
     
  6. zebbedy12

    zebbedy12 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    right my pc spec is, amd athlon xp2000+, 256 ddr, 40 Gb HD ( 15 Gb free ), versions of my software are as follows, DVD X Copy ver 3.2.1, DVD Shrink ver 3.1.6.6, DVD Decrypt ver 3.2.0, as for section 3 of ur thread the only software it has is nero for burning, i do have norton anti virus ( which ive tried disabling ), i have msn messenger which i dont open when i try to backup. i have played the dvds before ripping. with decrypter i tried the iso mode, i tried all the programs individually,dvds are clean new dvdrw, i dont use my computer when im trying to back up, i can only play dvds in WMP, what am i able to shut down in msconfig, i havent gotten to the burning process yet, the furthest i got was 49% then the program freezes, but for the record i am using datasafa 4x speed dvdr, but i cant see the media being a problem because i havent got that far
     
  7. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116

    zebbedy12,

    All right, we are now making progress -

    We are going to be working mainly with DVD Shrink and Decrypter and play a little with Xcopy -if the 321 works, fine But I’m not going to worry about it :p

    1st, I'd like for you to uninstall your version of DVD Shrink - and install the latest version - here it is :) - -> Shrink download - http://www.afterdawn.com/software/video_software/dvd_rippers/dvd_shrink.cfm

    Next, - your RAM is low, I need you to turn off EVERYTHING in msconfig - you're using XP so you don't need anything to startup with your system. DVD Xcopy wants a ton “O” memory to work a bit less is required by DVD Shrink but most all ripping and burning software are whores as far as wanting available memory -

    I would like you to start playing your DVD for about a minute and then open DVD Shrink - let it analyze the DVD. Then follow these instructions -

    Before I start though, I create a folder on my Desktop (i.e. All DVD Work) in that, I create a sub-folder with my movie’s name on it (i.e. All DVD Work/Pirates of the Caribbean) that’s where I put my work, where I can always find it later.

    When using DVDShrink, after inserting your DVD and playing it for a minute, open Shrink, click “Open Disk”. Then, “Select DVD Drive” and click “OK”. After Shrink has opened your disc, anywhere from 30 seconds to 1-½ minutes you’ll see the size of the disc reflected by the green bar at the top of the page. It should already be adjusted perfectly, automatically. That being done, let’s make sure that the box which says “Full Disk” is depressed (No need to cheer it up, it likes being depressed :). Now click “Backup”. When the Backup box opens, under “Target folder”, make sure the folder you made at the beginning with the movie’s name is there. Right now all we are going to do is backup the DVD on our HD. That way you can go back and burn a copy in the future. Now click “OK.

    Another attack can be made on DVD Xcopy - did you go to that link I already posted ? If not, let’s do it - go over all possible software conflicts for DVD Xcopy. It couldn’t hurt when we get to burning later with Nero etc.

    Question, is your Xcopy a RF copy or an original ?

    Let’s try that now, OK ?

    “P”
     
  8. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Only brief moments to scan through before im late for class hehe... but if i recall correctly, the NEC1300s had some issues? You might want to look into a firmware update if there is one?
     
  9. zebbedy12

    zebbedy12 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks for ur help, ripping fine now
     

Share This Page