1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What is the best DVD player for watching burned movies?

Discussion in 'DVD players' started by dbzhead, Aug 7, 2005.

1. dbzhead

dbzhead Member

Sorry for the lame question, but I'm a newb at the whole DVD ripping/burning thing and my DVD player is crap. I'm looking for something that will play anything and everything for less than $100. Any tips would be great. Thanks folks.

2. borhan9

borhan9 Active member

Basically when u are in the market for a good DVD Player look for the ones that have the most info e.g. DVD/VCD/CD/CDR/CDRW/DVD+-R MPR JPEG etc.. basically look at the box and ask questions but thats what i did when i bought mine and I have 2 DVD Players that work with everythin

1.Sonwa
    2.AKAI

They both do everythin i need and want. keep researching...

3. davidyang

davidyang Guest

if u go to like an asian mall or video store, they sell really cheap dvd players that play EVERYTHING, some are even region free

4. saugmon

saugmon Senior member

Usually the cheapies play just about everything. I've been having issues with my usually reliable sony dvp-ns325 in the last month. It started with the freezing and pixellation. A lens cleaning disc helped quite a bit,but when I slapped in my first dual layer backup,it wouldn't play the last quarter of the movie.

I just picked up the $36 wal-mart special Magnavox MWD 200f yesterday. It's playing backups from my benq in the dash/booktyped dvd-rom plus discs/and even my verbatim +2.4x dl played perfectly.
    I also have a brother and a cousin who picked up the same identical player. That thing don't even weigh a half pound.It is very small,but seems to be very compatable on my backups.

The specs list +/- r/rw/dvd-video/audio cd/cd-r/rw..It does state never play dvd-ram/photo cd/video cd/dvd with region codes other than 1 or all/dts-cd/dvd-rom & cd rom for pcs.