1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What is the best DVD value?

Discussion in 'DVD±R media' started by phydeaux, Feb 24, 2004.

1. phydeaux

phydeaux Guest

I just recently purchased a spindel of 50 Philips DVDs at best buy for $49.99 (plus tax), which is about $1.00 per disc. The customer service rep told me that DVD blanks usually run in the neighborhood of about $2.00 - $3.00 per disc. Did I get a good deal? Or, is there a vendor online that I can order them from for less? The blanks that I bought seem to be a pretty good quality product. But I'm new at DVD burning so I don't have much knowledge in this area. Thanks in advance for any help.

Brandon

2. Oriphus

Oriphus Senior member

Your price sounds pretty good, especially for a philips disc which is usually over-priced at the best of times. I personally only ever use by choice Ritek media, such as RiDATA/Traxdata

3. mara60

mara60 Guest

I have used verbatim and memorex. Between these two I have found out that memorex is the best value for the buck.

4. Jdilla

Jdilla Regular member

office depot had a sale like 2 weeks ago and i purchase a philips 50pk for $89 dollars, and received another 50pk for free more or less 100 for 96 dollars including tax, the media works great!! for both ps2 games or dvd. checked with dvd identifier and the discs were manufacture by cmc mag.. this manufactures does the majority of tdk, and memorex media that ive used in the past, some memorex are done by ricohjpn.. either way the price is fair. best buy always has these 50pks for 50 dollars deal almost every week. last week they had imation on sale for the same price, they are also good, manufacture be cmc mag too

5. Bigiboi

Bigiboi Member

i buy most my blank dvd's from meritline.com
    u can buy bulk dvd's for about 59 cents each.
    but then u must buy like 500 pieces or so