1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What is this error?

Discussion in 'CD-R' started by ChekUtd, Aug 25, 2004.

  1. ChekUtd

    ChekUtd Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I was trying to install Star Wars - Knights of the Old Republic when the disk said error 'data cyclic redundancy check' - i read in the other forums that i good way to rectify this error is the clean the disk, however i have cleaned the disk and the error still occurs.

    is there another way to fix this?

    the error occured on the first disk, the other three disks seem to be fine.
     
  2. CJC

    CJC Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    26
    CRC error means that either the disc is dirty or has alot of scratches on it.

    You can buy CD Reapir kits, but it may not help at all.

    CJC
     
  3. Shoey

    Shoey Guest

    Majority of the time you'll get "data cyclic redundancy check" error because the data was burned too fast.

    Try using IsoBuster or CDMage and extract the data from the cd to your hd. No guarentee this is a fix m8.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]MSI KT6V-LSR MS-7021
    AMD Athlon XP 2500+ (OC'd to 3200+)
    1 Gig Corsair XMS PC3200 (OC'd DDR 400)
    MSI MS Starforce nVidia GeForce FX5500(256 DDR)
    Maxtor ATA\133 200 gig
    Lite-ON LTD165H DVD-ROM
    Lite-ON LDW411S DVD-Burner[/small]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 26, 2004
  4. ChekUtd

    ChekUtd Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey,

    the disk is clean, its a new disk.... so that can't be the problem.

    I used the same type of disks for all 4 of the disks, so i just don't get why 1 out of the 4 don't work.

    Do you guys think it has anything to do with a protection on the disk?
     
  5. ChekUtd

    ChekUtd Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Oh and btw, the same thing happens when i tried to install GTA - Vice City
     

Share This Page