1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

what kind of ram

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by dell600m, Mar 28, 2005.

  1. dell600m

    dell600m Guest

    please feel free to tell every thing about ram you know the best brands, the best bang for your buck, how much ram can a computer handle what is the differnce in all the types of ram?
     
  2. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Thats alot of info you are asking for..........

    Do some searches on google, to start with here is a link, nice website and plenty of info for you to dive into......................

    http://www.computermemoryupgrade.net/types-of-computer-memory-common-uses.html

    Motherboard dependant really.

    Good brands usually include Kingston, Crucial, GEIL

    DDR2 is becoming the benchmark as it has more compatitbilty with todays motherboards, however Rambus is coming up, but is not backwards compatible with DDR - specific motherboard required (I think).

    Hope this helps............
     
  3. ScubaBud

    ScubaBud Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You are correct baabaa, Rambus is motherboard specific. :)
     
  4. GrandpaBW

    GrandpaBW Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,739
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    68
    I really hated to see the making of boards that use Rambus, cease. I have a computer with Crucial Rambus RAM in it, and this one, which has good Corsair DDR RAM in it. I think that Crucial Rambus is better RAM, but that is just MHO.
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2005
  5. ScubaBud

    ScubaBud Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    GrandpaBW

    My test bench PC has an Intel D850EMV2 with 512 PC800 Rambus. This stuff is "server solid" but the cost killed it when Rambus hung tight and would not drop. Even Dell's big boy PC's used to be loaded with it. But today everybody wants price.
     
  6. GrandpaBW

    GrandpaBW Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,739
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    68
    You are correct, ScubaBud. The cost killed it. I have the PC800 Rambus, also.
     
  7. Liez4Love

    Liez4Love Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I would get atleast a gigabyte of ram,, and why are do you want to know about ram?? are you thinking of upgrading?
     
  8. dell600m

    dell600m Guest

    well i don't know alot about all the differnt kinds of ram and what is the best kind to go with. like if i wanted a gig should i get 2x512 or just one pice that is a gig thanks
     
  9. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    get 2 so that if 1 is bad computer still works till get replacement
     
  10. haimback

    haimback Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    buying two 512's is cheaper too.
     
  11. dlc2000

    dlc2000 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i also have a D850EMV2 motherboard in my older machine with rdram pc 1066 . i must say the old rdram seems to perform better than the ddr im currently using in my sig . its too bad for rdram that pc manufactures chose cheaper ddr over rdram .

    since this is my first machine with ddr i cant really comment on which ddr memory is better . i can say i have had good luck with the corsair memory im currently using so far .
     
  12. Starbuck1

    Starbuck1 Guest

    Hey dell600m, as mentioned throughout the thread you have a few things to consider when purchasing the CORRECT memory. ... motherboard, front side bus, processor to reiterate. Check out this site; it is very helpful in figuring out the type of memory modules that are compatible with your machine.

    http://www.kingston.com

    http://www.crucial.com

    go with 512MB at a minimum with Windows XP Pro and up to 1GB should be very efficient and sufficient for your needs as long as the box can take that much memory. Good luck and keep us posted.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 31, 2005
  13. dell600m

    dell600m Guest

    thanks for the help. i have a dell 600m with the centrino mobile technology pentium m processor 1500mhz, 394mhz 512mb ram would 1gig of ram make a differnce in how fast i burn cd's it takes about 9 min's now thanks
     
  14. bbmayo

    bbmayo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    The memory most likely isn't going to effect your burning speeds what soever.
     
  15. bbmayo

    bbmayo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Friggen double post.. I hate when that happens
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2005
  16. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    what is your resources/performance at before you burn & also free hd space
     

Share This Page