1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What MicroSD card are you using for the M3 Simply?

Discussion in 'Nintendo DS' started by PooStain, Jan 21, 2007.

  1. PooStain

    PooStain Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm using the A-DATA 1GB. Is anyone using the Transcend 1GB one? I saw one for 13 dollars and I'm not sure whether it is good or not.
     
  2. dubside

    dubside Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    How is the A-Data 1gig? I have it also but haven't had the opportunity to use it yet (still waiting on my Simply)...
     
  3. DEJuliano

    DEJuliano Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So far I have used a Sandisk, PQI, and a Kingston 1 Gb Micro SD cards all with no problems. The Sandisk was the most expensive but they all seem to perform equally. My Digital camera uses micro SD thats why I have so many. Make sure you format to FAT 16 and NOT FAT 32, that seems to make a difference with some people.
     
  4. XbusterZ

    XbusterZ Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    sandisk 1GB made in taiwan.
    twas expensive, but i see no problems.
    ejected, re-inserted ~maaaannnyyy~ times no problems so far.
     
  5. PooStain

    PooStain Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The A-Data works perfectly for me.
     
  6. mr_hanky

    mr_hanky Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I'm using a Toshiba 256MB at the moment (came with my phone) is a tiny amount of storage but works flawlessly, will buy a 2GB Sandisk Ultra II when i have some spare cash.
     
  7. whompus

    whompus Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I have 2 kingston 1 impact and 1 transcend. They all work great. Not to sure how long the impact and transcend will last but they are working fine at the moment.
     
  8. Ocean23

    Ocean23 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Are all you guys able to run castlevania PoR without problems? I'm going to buy another DS lite and get a simply for that one, have a M3 perfect atm, and was only able to get castlecania PoR to work on a transcend 80x 2GB miniSD
     
  9. XbusterZ

    XbusterZ Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    both castlevanias work. i also tried playing a .dpg video in moonshell by converting a 10 min, 150MB vid with the included converter. it played surprisingly well and i got 16fps full screen. it wasn't jittery or anything (unless i tried to 'seek' around).
     
  10. negid

    negid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I just got my R4 today and the A-Data works perfectly.
    I also have a 1GB Kingston I haven't tried yet.

    I love my R4.
     
  11. BatDude

    BatDude Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    How do you format the micro card to FAT16? I can only choose between FAT and FAT32.
    Did everyone use "Default" as the allocation unit size?
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2007
  12. DEJuliano

    DEJuliano Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    FAT is FAT 16 I believe.
     
  13. negid

    negid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I actually formatted my AData 1GB card in FAT32 and it works perfectly. And yes, just use default.
     
  14. Richaayy

    Richaayy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    anyone used a Samsung one? Theyre the cheapest i can find but im not sure whether to go for the more expensive SanDisk or the cheaper Samsung one!

    Ordered my R4 today so if anyone has any info thatd be great!

    or anyone know cheap places for buying microSD cards?
     
  15. negid

    negid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I just bought an R4 and have been using an AData 1GB card as I mentioned above without any problems. I bought it at the link below for $16 with free shipping. It's the best deal I know. And they also have a Kingston 1GB for $15.50 if you want the name brand. I have one of each. Just in case one goes crap on me. It's always good to have a backup and for $30 for 2 of 'em why the heck not?!

    Adata for $16: http://www.meritline.com/a-data-micro-sd-1gb1.html

    Kingston 1GB for $15.50: http://www.meritline.com/kingston-1gb-micro-sd-card.html
     
  16. Richaayy

    Richaayy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    they only seem to accept wire transfers for international order.. so i guess its off to ebay for me..cheers anyways
     
  17. negid

    negid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Too bad. Maybe you could get someone Stateside to buy it and send it to ya? Would probably be cheaper than ebay.
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2007
  18. XbusterZ

    XbusterZ Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    2GB sandisk, fat32 [wanted to test this format]

    umm... it works, very well, castlevania tested 5/5 (both), .dpg of "my sassy girl" plays well at 20 fps [but always slow seek for movies over 16fps], mp3s all play well, i think this is slightyly faster loading than the 1GB(fat16[might reformat to fat32 to compare speeds]), and is actually under 2x the cost of 2x 1GB.

    testing on m3 lite perfect:
    drilldozer had to be normal started instead of fast-started. dsorganize(dldi patched) and moonshell work well along with what they were meant for.

    i highly reccommend this one since it's "huge".
     
  19. Richaayy

    Richaayy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    where ya pick up the 2GB card? almost everywhere ive looked the 2gb card is atleast 3x the price of a 1gb card
     
  20. XbusterZ

    XbusterZ Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well i meant msrp, since msrp of 1GB is 49.99$ (+/- 5$) and this thing was 89.99$ at best buy. paying that much is what i get for distrusting internet stores. online, the avg price of a 1GB microsd is around 30$ for non-san disk brands (san disk is so damned popular; so +10-15$ for sandisk). so it's still 3x that way.
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2007

Share This Page