1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What Software do I need and Want?

Discussion in 'Video - Software discussion' started by bocko57, Apr 7, 2004.

1. bocko57

bocko57 Member

I am very new at all of this so your help is greatly appreciated.

I am presently purchasing a LITE ON 812 (8x DVD-R) DVD Burner. I will be playing the DVDS on a Toshiba SD-4900 which only uses DVD-R. I am using Win XP Pro.

I plan on using the burner to save important files, store my digital photos, store my 8mm analog videos (and in the near future organize them into a nice presentation both the pictures and video), back up my DVD movies and PC games, and perhaps back up my XBox games.

I was looking at 321 Studios software. I have heard good and bad. I am aware that they do not have ripper capability.

Looking at my needs, what software should I be looking at and purchasing? Now, I am on a limited budget so be gentle.

Thanks
    Chris

2. Nephilim

Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

You are in luck! Forget XCopy and discover the wonderful world of superior freeware. I would suggest checking out the Guides section here and read up on DVD Shrink and DVD Decrypter - they are all you need to get started backing up your DVDs and both can be downloaded from our Software section :)

Whatever basic burning software that comes with your LiteOn should handle archiving your data and photos quite nicely.

XBox games are a different beast and you would be best served cruising through our XBox forum to get an idea of what you'll be up against here:

http://forums.afterdawn.com/forum_view.cfm/58

As far as backing up PC games my hearty recommendation lies with BlindWrite5 - it is an outstanding piece of software. Our CD-R section has a wealth of information about backing up PC games and can be found here:

http://forums.afterdawn.com/forum_view.cfm/38

Two very important things to keep in mind when burning DVDs: