1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Whats up with SP2!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Safety valve' started by kyle_101, Mar 6, 2005.

  1. kyle_101

    kyle_101 Guest

    Now MIcrosoft informs us that we have no choice but to install sp2, where is the god given right of choice???
     
  2. geestar20

    geestar20 Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Microsoft can't force a 200 somthing MB file on you. From what I understand, if you do not get SP2 then you will not receive any further updates from Microsoft, this is how they are trying to controll piracy.
     
  3. The_OGS

    The_OGS Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    SP2 is OK with me now - now that they have DivX 5.2.1 sorted out to work with it, and I don't have any more problems :)
    I have spent a great deal of time learning to config it and work with it on clients' PCs, and now that I know how to turn stuff that I don't like off (ie. Security Center) I have installed it on my personal PC.
    I've got my beloved old PPro rig here too - it has a 3dfx VooDoo and VooDoo2 - and I tell you, my Win98SE runs like a Ferrari ;-)
    Honestly most people don't even need Win2K, y'know?
    But WTF, that's progress...
    L8R Kyle
     
  4. kyle_101

    kyle_101 Guest

    I know a lot of people that have had their systems screwed up by sp2 how can they let out something that obviously hasn't been tested properly. Just goes to show that when you have market majority customer service takes a back seat to money.
     
  5. andmerr

    andmerr Guest

    i know of a lot of people who have tried to play games under XP only to find that they wont work unless SP2 is installed.Glad i'm still running win 2000.
     
  6. The_OGS

    The_OGS Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Yes! W2K :)
    Unfortunately XP has distinctly better Internet Connection Sharing (but, not a big factor for most people...)
    Now as you know, the #1 big compatibility issue with SP2 is the Data Execution Prevention component, which broke many older/homemade/grey-market software of dubious ancestry that tried to use these areas of memory that Micr*s*ft has now marked as out-of-bounds.
    Check to ensure this is activated for 'Essential Windows programs and services only' if having any problems.
    This is done in software for most, unless your very recent (Intel) CPU supports it, in which case it might be enabled for all programs & services...
    If you stay on top of this, learn the Security Centre, and update to all SP2-compatible software, you'll have no problems! (honest!!)
    The God-given right-of-choice has afflicted the world's PCs with plagues of infection, and clearly MS has had enough, they didn't wanna be sued again for more/new things.
    It's tough medicine, but the USA is the country that awarded the lady $6 million bucks when she spilled her McDonalds coffee and burned herself (!) remember?
    American jurists seem to all wanna be Regis Philbin (making millionaires) and big corporations must pay, and common-sense be damned.
    So it's Win2K, or SP2, or Linux for you & me and that's about it...
    Regards
     
  7. jacsac

    jacsac Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I can't think of any other product that is accepted even though it is faulty. Ford had probs with firestone tires and it caused millions of dollars worth of recalls. Microshaft patches windoze so many times when I reformat it takes me half a day to update my install. Its sad that almost everyone knows what a BSOD is.
     

Share This Page