1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

when do you need a patch

Discussion in 'PS2' started by 9ag14e, Nov 18, 2003.

  1. 9ag14e

    9ag14e Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I recently had supermodz install a Dms 3 mod chip in my playstation2. I have been reading in this and other forums that some games ,especialy ea sports games, require a patch. I get the impression from the reading I have done that some modded systems will need a patch and some will not. I guess what I want to know is what games require a patch and do I need to wory about getting patchs with the DMS 3. I just dont want to burn a lot of costers. Thanks in advance for the help.

     
  2. WEStar

    WEStar Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,056
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    only reason you'd need to patch games using a DMS3 is to convert them from PAL to NTSC or viseversa.
     
  3. panterra

    panterra Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    If you read the fine print with all the DMS2 stuff... it does say that some games will still reckogise a modded PS2. I think it is referring to PSx games though. I have had some problems.
     
  4. panterra

    panterra Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    May I ask how much the install cost?
     
  5. 9ag14e

    9ag14e Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I paid $80 for the chip and the install. Its a great deal and it works great.
     
  6. Icemonkey

    Icemonkey Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    You might also need to patch PS1 games that can detect a stealthed PS1 mod chip. They seem to pick up on PS2 mods as well.
     
  7. GzaPR

    GzaPR Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have DMS3 and a V7 ps2 and NBA Live 2004 recently i try to backup the game and the game freezes when Vince Carter shows and don't load up. Don't know why i never had a prob. with games. Do i need a pach for this game?
     

Share This Page