1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

When do you use DVDLoader V7 program?

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by rdn98, Sep 4, 2007.

  1. rdn98

    rdn98 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have swap magic 3.6, and it worked great. The other day I didn't have the CD SM with me to boot the ulaunch elf CD, so I thought that possibly the dvdloader program could help?

    I boot with DVD SM, load the DVDLoader which is on DVD-r, use the slide tool and swapped with the CD of ulaunch elf, but after that it gave an error about invalid disc.

    This leaves my scratching my head. I thought DVDLoader can help you load CD programs when your CD SM isn't around?

    Can someone shed some light when one would use DVDloader?
     
  2. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Your ps2 reads dvd's and cd's differently. So, you need to insert a real ps2 cd game before swapping for your burnt cd otherwise the ps2 thinks its still reading a DVD.
     
  3. rdn98

    rdn98 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks Sly, but I am still confused as to what the application of DVDloader actually is.
     
  4. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    its the same thing as cd loader, just on dvd :) It just lets you refresh the toc and stops the disc from spinning so you can do the swap.

    Load dvd loader
    Hit eject, insert and original ps2 cd game, or big dvd game (depending on if your booting a cd or dvd, this is the toc refresh)
    swap for game
    hit x
     
  5. rdn98

    rdn98 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ok, how does this differ from Swap Magic?

    Because you load with Swap Magic, then swap the game and press X.
     
  6. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    You can't do a toc refresh with older versions (2.0 for the most part) of swap magic. I think the newer versions have the function. Also, it helped load some problem games with the older versions of swap magic.
     
  7. rdn98

    rdn98 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I think I answered my own question here, but can CDLoader or DVDLoader help you load a copied PS1 game.

    I am thinking no.
     
  8. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Correct. PS1 games are also read differently by the ps2. There is a disc called breaker pro that can boot them, but it has to be original just like swap magic.
     

Share This Page