1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

When i useTMPGEnc to encode my divx to dvd it splits it into 2 files...

Discussion in 'Video - Software discussion' started by majinbuu2, Dec 2, 2002.

  1. majinbuu2

    majinbuu2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    When I use TMPGEnc to encode my divx files to a DVD file it splits it into 2 files. A video and an audio file. But at the end right when i'm about to encode the video it has a checkbox that says somethin about to encode into separate video and audio files. But it wont let me uncheck it. i have the latest version so.... Somebody help!
     
  2. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Thats strange. I don't know how you can get it to make the files into one during the process but you can always multiplex the video and audio.

    In TMPGEnc, click file - mpeg tools. Now click the "multiplex" tab and click add. Add the video stream and add the audio stream. Change the bar over it from Mpeg-1 System (Automatic) to Video CD. Type a directory and filename to save the output file and make sure that its a .mpg extension on it. Click Run

    After a few minutes the two will be multiplexed into one!.
     
  3. majinbuu2

    majinbuu2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yeah thats what ive been doing but i find that annoying. I'm pretty sure that someone knows how to stop it from doing that.
     
  4. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Is your stream type set to System (Video+Audio)??
     
  5. VCDjunkie

    VCDjunkie Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have nothing technical to add to this thread (yet), but Dela I must say that sig is pretty cool!

    Oh, and majinbuu2, let us know what version number you have and if you are using the wizard or how you are running TMPGenc.. I think between me and Dela we should get it figured out for you!
     
  6. majinbuu2

    majinbuu2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I dont know the version number but i am running the complete LATEST version from the official site. and yes i am running the wizard.
     
  7. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I find this very confusing! When you look at the help file it tells you

    ------------------------------

    Output video and audio as individual elementary streams

    Outputs video and audio as independent elementary stream, This option can be used only when DVD template is selected.

    When this option is checked, and a DVD template is selected, outputs .m2v file and .mp2 file independently.


    --------------------------

    I can't imagine why it wouldn't allow you to change it.

     
  8. VCDjunkie

    VCDjunkie Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    <--- downloading the latest version now --->
     
  9. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Wait a second now!! I just saw something. I tried using the Project wizard to setup for DVD encoding and it gave me some bull about auto setting stuff and when it got to the final step it wouldnt allow me to tick the box either. That's very strange.

    My guess is that the birates of DVD are too high for the encoder to multiplex at the same and finish the dvd in a credible amount of time time so it only works on faster machines
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2002
  10. majinbuu2

    majinbuu2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    maybe... anyone else?
     
  11. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Now I think I have it. On the first step in the project wizard when you are selecting a template. Click whichever dvd one you were using. Change PCM audio to Mpeg Layer 2 Mp2 and TMPGEnc will allow you to untick the box!
     
  12. VCDjunkie

    VCDjunkie Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yes, change from CBR linear PCM audio to CBR MPEG 1 Layer II, this allowed me to choose at the end.
     
  13. VCDjunkie

    VCDjunkie Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    wow, great minds think alike, eh Dela?
     
  14. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    lol VCD, lets just wait and hear what our friend has to say!
     
  15. majinbuu2

    majinbuu2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    You see thats why this program doesn't make any kind of sense. cause half way through it theres an expert mode where you can change the audio there but it still wont let you uncheck the checkbox at the end. But if you do it at the beggining it does. But anyways yall are great and now iIam coming to this site more often till i'm an expert at this kind of stuff! If I had my own credit card i would donate money to this site but too bad i dont :)
     
  16. VCDjunkie

    VCDjunkie Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yet another satisfied customer.. chalk one up for Dela.

    ;-)
     
  17. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Ah. Same with me Im 16 so no credit card but I can still click sponsors!! Anyway TMPGEnc is full of crap like that. Its yet another bug but hey, I don't really feel like reporting it so if you guys arent doing anything!!

    It's great using this forum because I have learned so much from just trying to answer questions from people. As soon as you get a lot of experience in (which you probably have enough already) hang out here and answer some stuff too and you'll see just how much you can learn from it!
     
  18. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Actually VCD. Its just as much your success as mine because I was on my way to bed when you proposed that the two of us try to figure out what's wrong.
     
  19. VCDjunkie

    VCDjunkie Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I didn't actually intend on fixing the problem at first, was only interested in commenting on your new Signature, funny how things work out, eh?
     
  20. majinbuu2

    majinbuu2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok now I was wondering, when I get my DVD-RW driver would i be ready to burn the files now? I dont need to convert the files to something else do I? Cause I converted alot already and I would hate to start all over. anyone?
     

Share This Page