1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which chip do I choose?

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by CyberA, Nov 16, 2004.

  1. CyberA

    CyberA Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Before the choice was easy, I wanted a DMS3......... but now theres all sorts of new and old chips coming out that can do many different things, plus theres that whole BIOS thing where you have to upload a "hacked" bios to get backups to work and the DMS4 controversy about them trying to eliminate competition and all that......... im not sure what chip to go with now....... can anyone recommend one?

    Its important to me that the chip be able to do the following:

    1. Its important to me that the chip will work on a V4, since thats the only PS2 I have (Yes I know these have a crappy lazer, but I can't afford a new ps2, much less a new PS2 and the cost of chipping it).

    2. Supports the official HDD (I play FFXI on my PS2, I dont want that ability disabled/lost)

    3. Supports playing PAL games in NTSC (I have a few PAL PS1 games on me, half of which DONT work in emulators >.<). I heard that some chips do that........ but I dont know if I heard it correctly or they were talking about something else, like PAL DVD movies.

    4. Direct-boots any PS1 or PS2 media. This should be a given...... with the proper bios pretty much every chip does this I believe. Keep in mind that this includes imports and the like, not only backups or home-brew applications.

    5. Is compatible with cheat devices like GameShark, Action Replay, and Code Breaker.

    6. This is a given too........ but supports disabling the chip in case I run into a game that uses some new anti-mod technology or problems with the chip in the future.

    So.......... can anyone recommend a chip that is confirmed to be able to do all this?
     
  2. punx777

    punx777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    pry the new dms.....my matrix infinity is pretty learly when it comes to booting psx games...... im sure thats just my problem... nobody ever complains about the dms tho:)
     
  3. jestaro

    jestaro Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I would go with a DMS, I have a DMS 4 in the my slim ps2 and it works fine.
     
  4. bigmac999

    bigmac999 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Matrix Infinity ought to do the trick.
     
  5. CyberA

    CyberA Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Can the DMS4 or Matrix do EVERYTHING I listed though?
     
  6. bigmac999

    bigmac999 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Matrix Infinity:
    1. Yes.
    2. Not sure, I think so.
    3. Yes.
    4. Yes.
    5. Yes.
    6. Yes.
     
  7. punx777

    punx777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    MATRIX INFINITY PRODUCT FEATURES
    - AUTOMATIC SELECTION for PS2/PS1/DVD SUPPORTS. (Just insert any support and the Infinity will play it !!)
    - DVD Region Free Incorporated !! ( to play all regions DVD without need of any extra operation.)
    - Full 512 Kb Flash Memory on board (Flashable with our future updates and software releases!!)
    - Compatible with Playstation 2 USA/PAL/Japanese - V1, V2, V3, V4, V4R, V5, V6, V7, V8, V9, V10
    - Jumper less (Automatic Version detection)
    - Software selectable "PS2 Quick Load" option. (To skip PS2 logo and Quick boot PS2 Games!!)
    - Software selectable "PSX Quick Load" option. (To skip PS1 logo and Quick boot PSX Games!!)
    - Easy to Install. (only 18 wires for V1-V8 and 20 wires for V9, V10)
    - ACTEL based IC for enhanced stability
    - AUTOMATIC "MACROVISION=OFF" ON ALL PS2 FROM V1 TO V10 WITHOUT ADDITIONAL WIRES !!
    - AUTOMATIC "GREEN FIX" (No more need to change the cable to see your DVD movies on the PS2!!)
    - Import Games Fix (All PSX import games are played at FULL SCREEN and FULL COLOR !!)
    - STEALTH-Mode (The Modchip can be switched off and becomes invisible to Online Gaming)
    - Sleep-Mode (The Modchip will switch off itself after boot)
    - 100% NO SWAP (Direct boot for all the PS2 and PSX games)
    - Supports games on DVD-9 media !!
    - PLAYS ALL THE CD’S and DVD’S Games (both, Import or Backup’s)
    - SUPPORTS MULTI-DISK GAMES !!
    - SUPPORTS ANTI-MOD PS1 GAMES !! (Only for V9 and V10 PS2)
    - SUPPORTS DATEL 16MB MEMORY CARDS!! (No need anymore to use the swap CD!!)
    - Very Reliable (All the Modchips are 100% tested before delivery)
    - Very Stable (Thanks to the sleep mode the IC will never Overheat)
    - CD Lens Safe (Avoid CD lens damage by sending un-necessary signal to the Drive Controller)

    i think dms4 has all the same features.... but i guess (in the matrix infinity) antimod psx games dont work unless you have a v9 and up..

    the question about hard drive support, im almost positive it will work, and if not you can just turn your chip off
     
  8. CyberA

    CyberA Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    It says nothing about cheat devices though
     
  9. nelswick

    nelswick Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yeah it works with cheat devices. i have used AR max, gameshark with media player, and AR max PAL on my version with matrix infinity.
     
  10. dvdps2

    dvdps2 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have couple ques. I'm looking to get a Premod with DMS3 in it from xmodd. Is xmodd a reliable place, on other forums it looks reliable. Also, how exactly do u update it. And when your booting the game, does it boot automatically? Should I get DMS 3 or DMS 4? What is the difference?
     
  11. punx777

    punx777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ive never done any transactions with xmod....

    i would get a dms4, they have an option of fast boot, where when you turn on the machine it automatticly goes to the game, no startup screen or ps2 logo...
    also it has autoselect.... meening it will automaticly recodnise the disk as a dvd, ps2, psx... only 2-3 mod chips have this ability...

    yes all games boot automaticly!! :)

    dms3 doesnt have the autoselect and fast boot features.

    to update, you simply download the bin/cue, burn it to a cd. and put it in the playstation... its very easy:)
     
  12. dvdps2

    dvdps2 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks for your help! Punx, where did you get your ps2? is it a reliable place. Where's a cheap place i can get a DMS4? thanks for the help.
     
  13. punx777

    punx777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i just got my ps2 at walmart and sent it to norcalmods.com to get it modded.... (they are very very reliable)
     
  14. CyberA

    CyberA Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yes, I am planning to get it modded at Norcalmods myself, ive talked to the man in charge many times.
     
  15. joseph11h

    joseph11h Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm thinking about getting a DMS4 myself, as many of you have recommended. And I was wondering, is there any difference in the Lite and Pro besides being able to store homebrew apps on it? Is there any difference in the software...does the Pro have a few more features?
     

Share This Page