1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which chip to get?

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by Raz1717, May 31, 2007.

1. Raz1717

Raz1717 Member

Hello afterdawn. I was wondering if I could get some input on which modchip to get for a ps2 v4 nogap model.
    I believe I'm going to buy from mod-chip.com. I have been looking at these two chips: Matrix Infinity Green Dot **Full Kit** and the Crystal Pro v2.0 **Full Kit**.
    I don't really understand the difference in the two. However I'm quite new to modding consoles. I basically want to be able to take a game, put it on any type of disk (cd-r dvd-r etc... I also heard that some chips don't support multi-disk games? I want one that supports that) and be able to put it into my PS2 and play without having to screw around with alot of stuff (if anything at all). So I was hoping to get some suggestions and opinions.

2. OmriSama

OmriSama Regular member

OMG i opened a HUGE debate thread about this. It is called TeamModders. Look for it.

Get crystal.

3. Raz1717

Raz1717 Member

Hey man thanks for the response. I checked out that thread and I'm leaning towards the crystal. I just have one question. I noticed it doesnt play backups? I have an idea as to what a "backup" is however I want to be sure. I want to take my store bought games. burn them to disks and play them. will it do this? Also I noticed someone spoke of "hacked firmware" on the TM site to make it play the "backups". Have you tried this, does it work?

Thanks again I appreciate it a lot.

Last edited: Jun 1, 2007
  4. steimy

steimy Active member