1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which Drives to Install on my Computer

Discussion in 'DVD / Blu-ray drives' started by TMcCallie, May 25, 2004.

  1. TMcCallie

    TMcCallie Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have HP 7975 now with XP.I have the following drives installed:
    Philips CDD 4851 combo CD and CDRW
    HP 300i DVD comb drive

    I also have the following drive that is not installed:
    Pioneer DVD Rom that came on my computer about 2 years ago. I removed it when I installed the HP 300i.

    Question:
    Would I be better off to remove the 2 drives from my computer and replace them with the Pioneer DVD Rom and a NEC 2500A DVD comb which I also own.

    I have read that it would be better to have a DVD rom to read from and a DVD writer to write to instead of useing the combo reader/writer for both reading and writing.

    Also if I swap them out do I put the jumpers on the replacement drives in the same location as the ones I remove?

    My computer is working fine now so no problem with present drives.

    Thanks for all of your answers.
     
  2. colw

    colw Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I tend to work on the principle - if it ain't broke don't fix it.

    Others may be more adventurous
     
  3. TMcCallie

    TMcCallie Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    colw.....

    No it ain't broke, I just want to swap out a CD combo drive that is in my system now for a DVD Rom drive that I have in stock and replace a HP 300 with a NEC 2500A.

    I don't understand the thing about slave and master and cable when it comes to jumpers.


    Does it make any difference when a DVD Rom drive and a DVD Burner are on the same ribbon cable which one is the master and which one is the slave?

    Will you explain that to me in my easy to understand terms.

    Thanks

     
  4. colw

    colw Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Sorry - just being a bit flippant

    I have my burner set as slave and DVD Rom set as master - I have had not problems with this combination and achieve good rip/burn speeds on a fairly low spectrum system. Many of the more senior members tend to advise otherwise re the master/slave relationship and I will leave it to them to provide more expert advice.

     
  5. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I would definitely swap out the existing drives.

    The burner is best set to master with the ROM being slave. You are on the right track with using the ROM to rip - faster rips and less wear and tear on your burner.

    The way to set them up would be to have the burner on the end of the IDE cable and the ROM plugged into the middle connection. If you look at the back of the drive there will be a set of pins with a little jumper connecting two of the pins. Most drives have a sticker or something stamped into the body indicating where the jumper goes to set the drive to either Master, Slave or Cable Select.

    It makes no difference if both drives are on the same cable unless you want to do "on-the-fly" copies which isn't advisable anyway :)
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small][​IMG]
    JMLS-166S/Plextor PX-708A/Plextor Premium[/small]
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2004
  6. TMcCallie

    TMcCallie Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Anyone please.

    I have switched my drives. I now have a DVD Rom Drive Phillips 116 and DVD Burner Nec 2500A.

    They work fine on my computer.
    Now for the problem:

    Nero does not recognize this DVD Rom drive. It recognizes the NEC 2500A but not the Phillips DVD Rom.

    I did not have the DVD Rom when I installed Nero Ultra 6. Could that be the reason.

    Please advise how I can get it to recognize my DVD Rom reader.

    Thanks,
    Tom
     
  7. TMcCallie

    TMcCallie Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Forgot to say on my recent posting:

    The DVD Rom drive is recognized by DVDinfoPro.
    So it must be installed correctly, Nero just don't see it.
     
  8. TMcCallie

    TMcCallie Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have determined that it is finding it but it is finding it as a wrong drive letter. It is assigning it the drive letter.

    My computer shows the correct drive letter for my Rom Drive but Nero shows it as Drive D instead of Drive E.

     
  9. Jerry746

    Jerry746 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I would try a Nero re-install since Windows is seeing it.

    Jerry
     
  10. TMcCallie

    TMcCallie Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks, I deleted nero and reinstalled it and now it is fine.

    Thanks,
    Tom

    Love this forum
     
  11. Jerry746

    Jerry746 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Glad that worked for you. This is definitely a great place to hang out. We never seem to stop learning all the tricks.

    Jerry
     

Share This Page