1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

which magic is real

Discussion in 'PS2' started by aXidburn, Jan 2, 2004.

  1. aXidburn

    aXidburn Guest

    is the magic 4.1 a real chip, or is it a clone?is it any differnt then the magic 3.1 also are the m2 good in v1 ps2?
     
  2. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    to the best of my knoledge china magic has never made a magic 4.1 only 3.1 3.6(3.1 with clip)5 and 5 50k
     
  3. aXidburn

    aXidburn Guest

    does anybody know for sure if its a real chip, and also if a m2 chip will work with ps2 v1-v3?
     
  4. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
  5. aXidburn

    aXidburn Guest

    what exactly does it mean when its a clone?
     
  6. stunn611

    stunn611 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    [bold] its fake or its a copy
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]ps2 v7
    magic 3.1
    sony DVD-+RW DW-U12A
    TDK & Verbatim dvd-r[/small]
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2004
  7. aXidburn

    aXidburn Guest

    i kno that but what i was really asking was if a clone modchip is any differnt? like is there any difference between the magic 3.1 and the clone magic 4.1?
     
  8. stunn611

    stunn611 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    [bold] do u mean difference in looks or difference in quality?
     
  9. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    These so called 'clones' normally use the same internal code.......as the code has just been cloned from an original chip.........

    They may however be located on a different pcb, or in a different manufacturers chip with different pin locations......

    This does not mean it will not work, however if the code is in a different chip (that has different specifications than the original) then there maybe a reliability issue........

    However from what I have seen the reliability issue is normally down to the age of the PS2/the media used/the software used to burn it........

    I think I will release my own clone into the market place [bold]Baabaa's Bazooka Version 1[/bold]

    http://www.selfmod.com/stepbystep.htm
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2004
  10. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    edited
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]Beware of the Pixies - they move in over night and turn your life upside down

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [/small]
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2004
  11. aXidburn

    aXidburn Guest

    what media is the best to burn with? also how could the software used to burn it with matter? i have burnt many games for my friend who has a magic V and i have used tdk at 2x and they have all worked fine.
     

Share This Page