1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which software is the best to burn DVD's?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by cwl, Jun 19, 2004.

1. cwl

cwl Member

Hi, I am a Newbie when it comes to burning DVD's. I have used the guides to convert a DVD to an SVCD with no problems. I feel now though that taking several hours a night to make an SVCD is not worth the hassle and will be getting a DVD writer. I have been looking at the guides, which are excellent by the way. I am curious as to which "guide & software" I should use? I would of course prefer something simple and quick. Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance

CWL

2. flip218

flip218 Moderator Staff Member

Speed depends on your system and your media.

I use these combinations:

DVD Shrink w/ DVD Decrypter (both free)
    DVD Shrink w/ Nero ($49-$69 depends where you buy)
    AnyDVD($39) w/ Recode 2 (Comes in Nero)
    DVD43(free) w/ Recode 2 .. don't use this combo anymore since I bought AnyDVD
    DVDCloner2 ($59)
    DVDXCopy Platinum ($129 ... cheaper now)
    DVDRebuilder(free) w/ CCE Basic ($58)...This process takes 3-4 hours, but the quality is the best(IMO).

3. cwl

cwl Member

Thanks for the reply. I have a p4 2.5 with 768 ram. I am planning to use the DVD decrypter and DVD shrink programs initially since they are free. Reading the guide for the DVD decrypter it says you have to wait a "veeeery loong time"(2nd last paragraph). I realize it depends on the legnth of the movie but on average how long does it to burn a movie using these prgrams?

Also do you burn DVD at the max speed available from your burners or do you slow it down?

Thanks

4. RyanZ06

RyanZ06 Guest

Well dnt know about burning with decrypter cause aint done it use nero instead, but an 1hr 30mins very max for all id say ?

5. flip218

cwl,

Speed and time varies, depends on computers.