1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Who crashed Zippy's PC.

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by ZippyDSM, Apr 16, 2012.

  1. ZippyDSM

    ZippyDSM Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I can not for the life of me run this one down, this glitch has lasted through 3 full re installs of win 7 and a week long test of an ati video card(still useing the ninvida card a 8800) its the damnest most random of hard lock ups I have ever had.


    Anyway heres the who crashed report, will give more info if you tell me where in the hell to get it.


    Oh and the crash itself when I am playing a video it will at least once a day start to grind the audio and blank the video. Oh and if you seek on vids it amps the rate at which it may crash.

     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2012
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,009
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    i did not crash your computer as i'm innocent!! moved to correct forum. what video card are you using? is the driver off the cd or from ati site?
     
  3. ZippyDSM

    ZippyDSM Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ah sorry was not sure which forum to post under.


    Currently using a ninvida card(8800), the ati was a temp card.
    And I am running the newest nivida drivers updated them 2 or 3 times and it still dose it.
     
  4. ZippyDSM

    ZippyDSM Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Newish bug noticed is sometimes when playing audio it will lag a bit but not crash.
     
  5. JST1946

    JST1946 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    26
    From what I have been reading sometimes a hardware change or updating the drivers will sometimes cause this in Windows 7 and Vista.
     
  6. ZippyDSM

    ZippyDSM Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Funny thing is it happened before I changed hardware 0-o
     
  7. JST1946

    JST1946 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I had a similar problem and it was because of my NVIDIA driver.
     
  8. ZippyDSM

    ZippyDSM Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I kinda figured it was the NVIDIA driver(s) but I can not believe its stuck past 3+ new version installs. 0-o
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2012
  9. JST1946

    JST1946 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Sorry for the double post. Microsoft was the one who recommended the driver when I did an update.I went to NVIDIA's wesite and downloaded it from there and haven't had any problems since.Who knows maybe I have a ghost in my house.
     
  10. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,009
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    double deleted
     
  11. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,988
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Once you've discounted all other causes,what evers left no matter how improbable must be the cause,does that help :p
     
  12. ZippyDSM

    ZippyDSM Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    That pretty much means this build was buggered from the start. :p
     
  13. pcrepair

    pcrepair Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    try a program called 'D7' it's more helpful with the dumps or the 'beta ERD disc' from microsoft seems you're not getting quite enough info from whocrashed
     
  14. ZippyDSM

    ZippyDSM Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46

    So is the ntoskrnl.exe thats bad?



     
  15. ZippyDSM

    ZippyDSM Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    did some research might be a timing/voltage issue on the ramm.
     
  16. ps355528

    ps355528 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    28
    You may be right.. thing is away from windoze world we are quite aware that the latest nvidia driver is a bit flakey. I'm only running an old FX5200 but even the "legacy" latest is crap. How hot is the thing getting?.. mine was trying to be a space heater.

    Try rolling back say 2 versions and see if that improves matters, it did for me until xorg1.11 went and messed up the boot runtime for the nvidia legacy blob.
     
  17. ZippyDSM

    ZippyDSM Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ya I kinda figured it was that but the strange thing is now that I got a few mini dumps to look at the ninvida driver dose not seem to be crashing 0-o. And I do vaguely recall that it started after I put in 8GB of ramm.
     
  18. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,009
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Zippy, does the new ram have a label on it that shows the voltage & if so then does the bios show what the ram voltage is at & are they the same or different? check with motherboard maker to see what the latest bios version there is & see if it is same or newer then yours.
     
  19. ZippyDSM

    ZippyDSM Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    f2-8500cl5d-4gbpk, it wants 2.1 for 533 mode so I am running it with that and the clocks set to auto....seems stable I will know in a few days if it is or not LOL
     
  20. pmshah

    pmshah Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    In most likelihood the problem lies with your ram and or the slot holding it. It can lead to random memory access problems leading to the PC freezing on you. In most cases jiggling it or cleaning the ram and the socket with isopropanol does the trick.

    I would also suggest you get the latest copy of freeware MemTest86+ and run it on your PC for a thorough check of the ram. You will have to boot from a floppy/CD.

    If you have a single dimm and multiple sockets switch the slot used. Alternately test individual dimms in different sockets, one at a time using MemTest85+.
     

Share This Page