1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why are my USB drivers so slow?

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by RodneyD, Jul 15, 2007.

  1. RodneyD

    RodneyD Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I came to Iraq and had to reinstall windows. I forgot that I put my drivers cd back in storage. When I reinstalled windows I had no sound my USB's are slow and sometimes can't be recognized. I went to the website and downloaded all my drivers but it doesn't have USB drivers listed on the site. The I was told they come in windows sp1 or some thing. Well I have sp2 so why wont my USB's work right?

    If anyone could help me figure this out I would be very thankfull.
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    moved to correct forum.
    what is the make & model# of the computer or motherboard?
     
  3. RodneyD

    RodneyD Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thank you, I didn't see this forum topic. ddp I bought it custom from www.UNIWILL.com, Model #258ka5. I don't really know if uniwill is the make or not but, other than that there isn't a make logo or anyhting on my computer. It is a laptop if that helps.I looked and didn't see anything for it. If you can help that would be awsome!
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
  5. RodneyD

    RodneyD Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I also have the SiS PCI IDE controller.


    I went to the website and didn't find anything for USB's.


    I can still use all my ports, most of the time. Only sometimes it wont be reconized.

    Under D/M it shows my PCI modem and USBs with a yellow (?) symbol.
     
  6. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,321
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Have you tried going to 'update driver' and having it search automatically?
     
  7. RodneyD

    RodneyD Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yes Sam, I have tried.

    I cant reinstall windows or change operating systems, witch I would have done already, because I ripped my CD drive out of my laptop. I have an external cd drive but they my computer doesn't boot if I have anything other than a mouse plugged in. It will get stuck on initializing USB CONTROLLERS.
     
  8. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,321
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    That sucks, what made you rip the CD drive out?
     
  9. RodneyD

    RodneyD Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11


    I downloaded that AMI program that detects what motherboard chipset you have and alls I saw was. AMI for my BIOS and AMD processor.
     
  10. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,321
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    That suggests you have an American Megatrends BIOS, that doesn't indicate what chipset you have, Try downloading CPUZ, that should give you loads of info.
     
  11. RodneyD

    RodneyD Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11

    I just bought the simpsons seasons 1-18 and it scratched season one and I lost my temper.
     
  12. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,321
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    !
    IT scratched the disc? In that case I suppose you have every right to change it, but I'd recommend putting one back!
     
  13. RodneyD

    RodneyD Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11

    Ok Sam, I downloaded that program and it tells me I got a SIS mainboard 755/755FX. Southbridge is LPC Bridge, not sure if you even needed the second part.
     
  14. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,321
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    OK that's more like the info we need. Does the SiS website have a set of drivers for that chipset?
     
  15. RodneyD

    RodneyD Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    If it does Sam, I think they are hiding it.

     
  16. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,321
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
  17. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    sam, link doesn't work.
     
  18. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,321
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Lol I see the quality of Jetway's website is no better than that of their products...
    I was expecting at least one of the links to work...
     
  19. RodneyD

    RodneyD Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sweet thanks, now I know to look for the file Sis_USB20.zip. I'll let you know if I find it or if it work.
     
  20. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,321
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Yeah sure, a bit of a difficult one. If you track it down, let us know.
     

Share This Page