1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why can't i copy a copy?

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by mimesis, Jan 15, 2005.

  1. mimesis

    mimesis Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    There are a few movies i wish to copy which i have already copied before. But i can't even get the computer to find the movie on the disks. Is there any way to back-up back-ups or not?
     
  2. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    It can be done. It's important to use quality media for the first backup. If the backup can't be read/ripped, then you cannot back it up.

    I've backed up a backup using Shrink, or DVD Decrypter or Nero's disc copy feature.
     
  3. mimesis

    mimesis Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The media i have used are the STAPLES DVD+R's and MEMOREX DVD-R's any suggestions?
     
  4. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Yea ... try some Verbatim +R's.
     
  5. gatlin01

    gatlin01 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I`ve used maxwell +r 8x dvd and was able to burn the backup with no problems.
     
  6. saugmon

    saugmon Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,064
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I have no problem using nero express to rip my backup dvd+r to make another copy.Like flip218 said,High quality media on the original backup is a must.
    The verbatim +8x coded mcc003 allow me to rerip them. Maxell -4x yellow tops coded mxl-rgo2 are working ok also.The slightly lower quality discs won't allow me to do it. Make sure the media,especially those important ones, are made in Japan. They produce the best media.
     
  7. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    once the movie has been ripped to hard drive, simply use nero to burn from there for as many copies as you want. remember that all the grunt work, ie ripping has been done, all you're doing is copy the data to the dvd now

     
  8. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    i also have problems copying a copy,with both nero express and alcohol 120,i get the message not enough space on disc,insert disc with more space.before anyone tells me to use shrink,i have...
    i am trying to copy a copy using "on the fly method"
    but there is no way i get round this error message
    if anyone can be of assistance,that would be great.
     
  9. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    i wouldnt personally use on the fly, and my kit is def. up to the job. there's enough problems ripping/burning when peepl do basic stuff. try doin the usual rip to hard drive etc first..
     
  10. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hursty,

    You've posted this question already. And I've already warned you about mulitposting.
     
  11. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    i didnt start this thread
     
  12. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hursty,

    Read the forum rules. You think I don't know you didn't start this thread? You still posted to it with the same problem. You've already started a thread about your issue. So I'm going to tell you again. No multiposting.
     
  13. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    fair enough,advice taken.
    p.s have you got the answer i am looking for to solve my problem.
    with regards hursty
     
  14. johns3304

    johns3304 Guest

    If you put the dvd in your computer.. Then use windows and "my computer" to find the dvd.. The files should appear there.
     
  15. nawlinz

    nawlinz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    To copy my copies I use Nero, or DVD FAB. With them 2 I never have a problem.
     

Share This Page