1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why do some games skip and freeze.

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by donneeo, Nov 21, 2004.

  1. donneeo

    donneeo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Some games play prefect when others ship,freezup is there a fix for this..
     
  2. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    try burning slower or using better quality media
     
  3. donneeo

    donneeo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks will try...
     
  4. donneeo

    donneeo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Still the same...
     
  5. jules_c

    jules_c Guest

    if its a network play game you'll need to patch it. go to www.ps2info.com.

    i cant tell you much more becasue im having trouble with the disc id ultility cdr ive just burned.
     
  6. djgianni

    djgianni Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i finally got the disc to work because i switched programs...try a different one..i need help getting my backups to work in general can someone help me?
     
  7. donneeo

    donneeo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The game's I'm talkin about are,

    Starwars battle front
    Navy Seal #2
    All the rest of my backups work perfect
     
  8. Fatality

    Fatality Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    What model is your PS2, What chip is in it? There could be about 4 fixes. Let me know these things, Oh and media type your using,
     
  9. donneeo

    donneeo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ritek G04 Grade 102-243-100
    A 4X DVD-R 4.7GB White
    Inkjet Printable Blank
    Media for General Use

    Ps2 SCPH 30001 R v5/6
    DVD Burner sony DW-D22A
    No Solder Modchip for PS2 v5/6/7
     
  10. Leximus

    Leximus Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I take it you are using the slide card method right?

    If so - from my experience, battlefront skips through this boot method.

    Burn cogswaploader or cdloader. Boot the swap magic cd disk - then slide swap to the cdloader cd. press eject and use the TOC of the swap magic dvd, then do another slide card swap to battlefront... Should now play without skipping. for more details, there's probably a post somewhere - maybe with a download link or something. Do a search.
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2004
  11. offset

    offset Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    [bold]If you are running Norton's antivirus, make sure you disable it while burning your movies and games. It is common for it to cause bad burns (skipping, freezing, etc...).[/bold]
     
  12. donneeo

    donneeo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    will try...
     
  13. donneeo

    donneeo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I use the eject button
     
  14. donneeo

    donneeo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I use the eject button
     
  15. jonjakjam

    jonjakjam Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Online games need patching if swap magic is not used.
     
  16. Leximus

    Leximus Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    OK I think it's still the same issue with battlefront. Its still a swap trick you are doing i think. Dunno bout Navy Seals, but try getting cdloader or cogswaploader and give it a shot.
     
  17. donneeo

    donneeo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I tried it all a still freeze and skips...
     
  18. Leximus

    Leximus Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    OK - sorry m8, it worked for me.

    Maybe you need to re-burn at 1 speed on some verbatim media if not already?

    c ya
     
  19. donneeo

    donneeo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    will try that, let you know if it work's or not.
    Thank's for all your help...
     
  20. jules_c

    jules_c Guest

    Anyone tried backing up Towny Hawks Underground????

    i ve used windip to patch Tony Hawks Underground with the disc id pulled off the original. I noticed that when i verify the image using windip the DNAS280.IMG.1 is patched but the IOPRP280.IMG is indicted as 'no match found'. Should i patch the back up with the what looks more complicated disc id insertor v2.01? Could this also be the reason why the game takes about 5 minutes to boot and freezes when it tries to load speach in the game?

    Im using unbranded dvd-rs but ive not had a problem with these before.
     

Share This Page