1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why does DVD Shrink remove audio?

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by kdetour, Jun 3, 2011.

  1. kdetour

    kdetour Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I ripped a movie with DVD Shrink and then used ConvertXtodvd to burn to disc (all to remove region protection so can play the movie on some limited players).
    In convertxtodvd the audio comes up as "0", so there is no sound once the disc is burned. No other movie/disc has done this using this process. I've never encountered this problem before. Can anyone tell me why this has happened? Is it a new way of protecting the copying of discs perhaps?
     
  2. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,513
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
  3. kdetour

    kdetour Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I appreciate your suggestions, but I found that DVDDecrypter also left out the sound
    so I assume that its the dvd thats got the problem. However, I did try DVDFab, the
    so-called trial version, and it took about 6 hours to rip it to the computer but it never finished; when almost done an error message came up saying that it had stopped
    working and promptly shut down. What a great waste of time that was! Im so glad I
    didnt buy DVDFab after what the trial had shown. Theres nothing fab about it.
    So, Im back where I started and can only think there is something strange about this
    particular DVD movie...? And I have found nothing whatsoever anywhere on the internet that even mentions this type of issue.
     
  4. Vato

    Vato Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Why did you go and use ConvertXtodvd to burn to a disk when DVD shrink does it for you automatically?!?! Have you been playing with the settings!??!
    Or do you know how to use DVD shrin properly?!
    It should automatically ask you to insert a blank disk (if you only have one dvd rom) if you have 2 put the original on one (run dvd shrink through it and put the blank one on the other.... if should burn automatically.
    Or you can go into the settings and select the burning dvd rom.

    As for the sound.... have you checked that you haven't automatically unticked English audio?!!? Also is the movie your trying to ripp ok and it has sound?!? I have used DVD shrink in the past and have never had problems with audio. Might I suggest un-installing it , rebooting your computer, deleting the DVD Shrink folder from C:programs and then re-installing it. This might fix your problem.
     
  5. kdetour

    kdetour Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Why did you go and use ConvertXtodvd to burn to a disk when DVD shrink does it for you automatically?!?! Have you been playing with the settings!??!
    Or do you know how to use DVD shrin properly?!
    It should automatically ask you to insert a blank disk (if you only have one dvd rom) if you have 2 put the original on one (run dvd shrink through it and put the blank one on the other.... if should burn automatically.
    Or you can go into the settings and select the burning dvd rom.

    As for the sound.... have you checked that you haven't automatically unticked English audio?!!? Also is the movie your trying to ripp ok and it has sound?!? I have used DVD shrink in the past and have never had problems with audio. Might I suggest un-installing it , rebooting your computer, deleting the DVD Shrink folder from C:programs and then re-installing it. This might fix your problem.[/quote]

    I've never known dvd shrink to actually burn dvds, how is that done? No, I have not played with the settings, I've had no reason to. It never asks me automatically to insert a blank disc...never has. And once again - this does not happen to any other disc I've used in DVD Shrink, just this one movie.
    So how does it burn onto discs?
     
  6. Vato

    Vato Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I've never known dvd shrink to actually burn dvds, how is that done? No, I have not played with the settings, I've had no reason to. It never asks me automatically to insert a blank disc...never has. And once again - this does not happen to any other disc I've used in DVD Shrink, just this one movie.
    So how does it burn onto discs?[/quote]

    Sorry then I'm guessing you don't have "Nero" Installed because on the settings there is something you can tick to enable burning through Nero and it will automatically burn.

    But I remember the old versions of DVDshrink used to let you select how and what speed you wanted to burn and also what DVD Burner you wanted to use (if you had more than one)

    But I have not used it for a long time and I don't use at all these days (as I use HDDs for my movies ;) ) and have not used this program for more and 5 years.

    Hope this helps

    Ohh yeh also here is where u can do virtual tour of the settings of DVDSHRINK
    http://www.dvdshrink.info/guides.php
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2011

Share This Page