1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

why does Nero take 2+ hours

Discussion in 'Convert DVD to another format' started by rimland, Dec 11, 2004.

  1. rimland

    rimland Guest

    to burn 30 mins of video to a DVD + RW via USB 2.0
    thx
     
  2. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    rimland,

    It all depends on what you have Nero doing. If it has to render an AVI file a MPEG file or the like, it will take time. It also depends on what your PC's specs are also. Is your file transfer in PIO or DMA ?

    What did you start out with and what are you working with ?

    Pete

     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2004
  3. Maddux31

    Maddux31 Guest

    yea what he said.......
    "need the info, pete's the boss" lol
     
  4. rimland

    rimland Guest

    I ripped a 20 minute DV to my hd then burned it to dvd + rw. The burner is a sony external usb 2.0
     
  5. jonjakjam

    jonjakjam Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    rimland, what are your PC specs?
    And whats the actual size of the DV file?
     
  6. rimland

    rimland Guest

    Dell 4550 P4 2.4 Ghz, 640MB Ram, 64MB video card, 500K mpeg file
     
  7. jonjakjam

    jonjakjam Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    500k or 500MB?
    Is DMA on?
    Use nero info tool to see if DMA is on.
    An mpeg file will take time to transcode like pete said.
    One more thing, are you sure your dell has usb 2.0 ports?
     
  8. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116



    Huuuummm, me's a thinkin' that he's got a Pent 4, 2.6 Ghz processor w/ 640 MB of RAM, it has to be a crap PC to not have 2.0 USB ports - they've been putting them in PC's for over 1 1/2 years.

    Iffin he ever answers our questions then check on Firmware and resources being used. If he's printing labels listening to music, watching a DVD or surfing the Net with the normal amount of proggys that XP usually has running in the background - he doesn't have enough dedicated resources to burn in any faster time (much less if he's doing any kind of rendering.

    My last thoughts - I believe he's dealing with a bin/cue, AVI, WinRar OR at least a MPEG 2 because he's saying he's working with a 20 minute, 500MB file.

    (I know he said KB But you can't have 20 minutes of anything that's KBs)

    I'm done,

    Sea Yaaaaaaaaaaa


     
  9. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    My 2 cents,

    Huuuummm, me's a thinkin' that he's got a Pent 4, 2.6 Ghz processor w/ 640 MB of RAM, it has to be a crap PC to not have 2.0 USB ports - they've been putting them in PC's for over 1 1/2 years.

    Iffin he ever answers our questions then check on Firmware and resources being used. If he's printing labels listening to music, watching a DVD or surfing the Net with the normal amount of proggys that XP usually has running in the background - he doesn't have enough dedicated resources to burn in any faster time (much less if he's doing any kind of rendering.

    My last thoughts - I believe he's dealing with a bin/cue, AVI, WinRar OR at least a MPEG 2 because he's saying he's working with a 20 minute, 500MB file.

    (I know he said KB But you can't have 20 minutes of anything that's KBs)

    I'm done,

    Sea Yaaaaaaaaaaa


     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2004
  10. rimland

    rimland Guest

    The dell is 1.5 yrs old and it didn't come w/ usb 2, i installed it. If I had tried this w/ usb 1 it would have taken 20hrs.
    I'm checking on DNA and I'll let you know.
    thx

     
  11. rimland

    rimland Guest

    what is DMA and do you know if you can determine if it's 'on' w/ the OEM version of Nero (6.6.0.1) ?
    thx
     
  12. jonjakjam

    jonjakjam Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Click on the get system info icon in nero.
    And check to see if the drive is DMA on and ASPI is installed and working.
     
  13. rimland

    rimland Guest

    DMA is 'on' for my CD RW but not for my DVD RW
    ASPI is installed & working
     
  14. rimland

    rimland Guest

    DMA is 'on' for both drives
     
  15. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    Rimland, there's a card you can get to get your USB port up to 2.0 levels. For a couple of bucks, but you know that. Yep, about 1 1/2 years ago was about right.

    Now that your DMA is on, has your speed jumped up like, a whole bunch ? (Lol) I hope that was it . . . :)

    With a PC such as mine it should burn a disc in 14 to 16 minutes at 4X.

    Cheers,

    Pete

     
  16. rimland

    rimland Guest

    Yo, Jethro Shi_forbrains Knowitall, thanks for your expert help and your cospolitan opionions
     
  17. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116




    And you're problem is . . . . ?



     
  18. jonjakjam

    jonjakjam Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    [bold]im no expert when it comes to stuff like this but i still managed to help you[/bold] rimland.
     
  19. pulsar

    pulsar Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Rimland, continue with little rants like that & you will gain the reputation as a complete JACKASS.
    If I were you I would eat humble pie & show a little respect for people who are trying to help you. We don't get paid for this!
     

Share This Page