1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why won't dvd decrypter allow me to burn at 2x?

Discussion in 'PS2' started by Shatter, Oct 14, 2004.

  1. Shatter

    Shatter Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    My burner supports 2x and 4x yet with dvd decrypter I can only burn at max, but with nero and alcohol120 I can do it at 2x.
     
  2. PupDog44

    PupDog44 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    What kind of burner do you have...when you load up dvd decrypter does it tell you the model or does it say generic...my buddy had that happen with his burner and no matter what speed you select it goes at max.
     
  3. Shatter

    Shatter Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have a lite-on sohw-8325. Decrypter identifies it as that. I get a write error. (I/0 error)
    Edit- I thought I put this in DVD-r for newbies discussing? If anybody could move this there, if possible, I'd appreciate it.
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2004
  4. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    might be worth checking your aspi layer
     
  5. Shatter

    Shatter Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sorry, I'm late in response, but it seems that dvd decrypter is best a burning for me, yet I can't get it to work at 2x. I'm quiet new to all this, what is a aspi layer and how would I go about checking it out. Many times games to work fine at max, but I want to be safe. With nero express 4 out of 5 games game came out bad. One froze the others looked like a tape that is being rewode or fast forwarded (skipping lines is best I can describe it)
     
  6. leeborn

    leeborn Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    dude what disks are u usin?
     
  7. Shatter

    Shatter Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    1st I used sony dvd-r's then I switched to ritek ridata and I have the same problems. I'm beginning to think maybe my burner is the problem. Its a lite-on dvdrw sohw-832s.
    By the way dvd decrypter did let me burn at 2x a while ago for some reason, but still the game wouldn't work. I think it was a read disk error that I got instead of the usual scrathy jumpy video feed I mentioned earlier.
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2004
  8. devilhunt

    devilhunt Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    to find out more about aspi check out this site http://forceaspi18.w.interia.pl/ there's a program on there called aspichk that you can use to check your aspi layer
     
  9. joeqman

    joeqman Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Shatter Im having the same problem and that why Im here. for some reason decrypter wont let me burn DVD-r with an error. But I can burn the same file on a DVD+r
    lite-on 832s
    new firmware flash
    dvddecrypter 3.5.1
    I have other lite-on 441s, 811s and have no problem burning at all. need to find problem before I scrap this 832s
     
  10. Shatter

    Shatter Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm still struggling with this!
    I have XP Home and don't think I need ASPI. I did try updating it and it didn't do anything good anyways.
    This exactly what i get when I try to burn at 2x with dvd decrypter:

    I/O Error!

    Device: [1:0:0]LITE-ON DVDRW SOHW-832S VSOE (D:)(ATA)

    CDB: 2A 00 00 00 00 20 00 00 20 00
    Interpretation: Write (10)-Sectors:32-63

    Reason: The request could not be preformed because of an I/O device error
     
  11. joeqman

    joeqman Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Shatter,
    I did end up selling off my 832s, but prior to that I did get it to burn 2x on a DVD-R. It appears that all media is really not the same. Tried Memorex and make sure the disc is cable of the speed your trying to burn. An assumption because the burner can burn at that speed does not mean the media is can. different media has different speed specs.
    All my problems went away as far as errors, but sold it anyway and ordered a BenQ 1620 Love it
    Good Luck
     
  12. Shatter

    Shatter Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I got it to burn at 2x, but now I get problems such as this all the time after verifying.

    Device: [1:0:0]LITE-ON DVDRW SOHW-832S VSOE (D:)(ATA)

    ASPI SRB Status: 0x04
    Interpretation: SRB Completed With Error

    Host Adapter Status: 0x00
    Interpretation: Host Adapter Did Not Detect An Error

    Target Status: 0x02
    Interpretation: Check Condition

    CDB: 28 00 00 0A F7 66 00 00 01 00
    Interpretation:Read [10]-Sector: 718694

    Sense Area: 70 00 03 00 00 00 00 0A 00 00 00 00 11 00 00 00 00 00
    Interpretation: Unrecovered Read Error

    Retry Cancel

    joeqman, do you think the burner is at fault?
     
  13. joeqman

    joeqman Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Again I say media!!
    I set the 832s I sold up on another computer today and it works great. Something in my config must have been causing errors. Have the latest firmware, and the best media, I got away with memorex
    Thats all I can say
     

Share This Page