1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wii Firmware Update Question

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by eric_259, Sep 29, 2007.

  1. eric_259

    eric_259 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm not sure if this is smart, but I was wondering if I should upgrade to 3.0U NTSC-U. I never installed the leaked Wiikey disc (1.9b) but I did install the legit one. I also put in 1.3 config disc. The reason I would like to install 3.0U because I want to play the newer games which require 3.0U but I'm not sure if it will do anything to my Wiikey. I am D2B, and my serial is LU3. Basically what I'm asking, by installing 3.0U firmware, will I still be able to play games? [I don't use homebrew at all, and I do use some roms, but thats about it.] Thanks in advance,

    -Eric
     
  2. Spider014

    Spider014 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ye, you can update.

    Just be careful with some PAL backup games, cause some of them contain a 3.0E update, but If you use Brickblocker it'll be fine.

    Oh, just thought of it, if your Wii is 3.0U already, it shouldn't update with a PAL update.

    Hope this helps :)
     
  3. eric_259

    eric_259 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    No, I'm updating through System Update in the Wii's settings. I'm pretty sure its smart enough to know that I'm NTSC-U, if not than I'll yell at them :D. Thanks for the answer though.
     
  4. storm569

    storm569 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    okay this will be my first time updating the wiikey. should i update my wii first and then update the wii key? or the wii key and then the wii?
     
  5. dibe

    dibe Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i have a cyclowiz and i updated the chip then the wii to 3.0U and everything works fine
     
  6. Daimao

    Daimao Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    the order doesn't matter but i updated my wii first,then wiikey
    everything works just fine
     

Share This Page