1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wii HDD to HDD transfer

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by Wyattspop, Dec 18, 2011.

  1. Wyattspop

    Wyattspop Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    28
    First, I hope this isn't a double post, I asked this months ago when I was a noob and I've learned much since and think I speak the language enough to understand help. As short as I can: I backed up all my games to a 1 tera HDD, I play them in homebrew through USBloader GX which is on a 2GB SD Sandisk front side of my Wii. I have a second Wii I'd like to use, my question: Can I simply copy the 2GB Sandisk onto another SD and put that in Wii #2? It has my GXLoader, my media player, game covers and channels all loaded up. I paid a guy years ago to add homebrew to both Wii's but there was no SD card in #2. Second, how do I tranfer the games I want from my 1 tera HDD to the other HDD (it's only a 320GB)? I do have WBFS Manager. The 2nd HDD (a Passport) says the file system is UDF and shows 614MB of data, I see no games on it, the contents are mostly "user manuals 275MB and WD Smartware 101MB if it helps. Thank you guys, I hope I've improved enough not to annoy. Merry Christmas
     
  2. tongs007

    tongs007 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    78
    if #2 has homebrew already installed, chances are its fully modded like #1 if it was done by the same guy. if you want the same apps in #1 to be in #2simply format another sd card and copy all files from number 1 to it. ya hdd needs formatting using wbfs ( your pc will no longer recognise the hdd and always ask to format it IGNORE IT) now its ready for games. i would suggest drive to drive transfer but i think your 1tb will have more than 320gig worh of games on. download wii back up manager, plug in both drives, make your 1tb your 1st drive and simply check the games you want to transfer, then click on transfer to drive 2 (your 320gig). :) merry christmas friend
     
  3. Wyattspop

    Wyattspop Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Hey Brother,
    How's my favorite Mad Brit doing these days? Laugh my aSS off whenever you post on FB.
    I've gotten pretty good on most of this nonsense, but I still have some work to do, for instance, I don't even know if my unit is hard or soft-modded, I just paid some guy to add Homebrew on it a couple of years ago. He did my 2nd one later, (at least I paid him to) but that one had no SD card inside it when he returned it. I'll then transfer some games to the 320GB HDD I bought for it and give it a whirl.
    Thanks for looking out, love to your munchkin
     
  4. tongs007

    tongs007 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    78
    i would think its a soft mod but that really isn't a problem as long as its working. And if the second wii Has homebrew on it i would imagine its hacked like your first one. Why not hook the hard drive up to it and put the card in the wii and see Whats What? Good luck
     
  5. Vato

    Vato Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    WTF lol what is the first sentence supposed to even mean > <

    You still don't know what hard modded or softmodded means?!?!
    After alllllllllllllllllllllll this time..............gosh seriously. LMAO ROFL!!!!

    Hardmodded means having a chip installed. Softmodded means that there is no chip installed, but it was hacked via software only (meaning they used a game and SD card with software inside it). I thought we explained all this before but you still don't get it?!?!?

    I'm surpriced your Wii hasn't exploded yet LOL.

    Just do what tongs said and stop the unessesary comments and ramble on posts.

    Keep it to a minimum seriously, if you take offence too bad but no one wants to keeps reading rants, we already know your story from earlier post (I'm sure the whole of afterdawn knows) LOL

    Anyways back to the question. Just make sure you don't accidently format the HDD with your games on it when you open it up on Back up Manager, you might say ohhhh noo I used to fix planes for a living I know computers, but trust me, a lot of people have selected the wrong Letter drive and formated (it is a simple mistake many people have done) just go on and read posts about it.
    Well anywho happy formating and copying. It will take a lonnnnnnnnnnnng time for the games to copy across so just go do something else and leave it running.
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2011
  6. Wyattspop

    Wyattspop Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Vato,
    I appreciate your responding but honestly, can you not once reply without flaming people? You talk about my rambling on but instead of simply answering the question, you author an entire paragraph to insult the poster. My entire request took 9 lines, your reply took 16! Did I say I don't know the difference between hard and soft mod? No! I said I don't know which the unit I'm currently dealing with is. My unit hasn't exploded, from these boards I managed to learn how to back up my games to both drive and disk, add all my covers, install a new media player and GXLoader, fix out of region issues and my kid can watch his Disney movies on disc or the ones backed up to the HDD. I try to help the new folks who know even less than I do w/out slamming them, yet curiously, I'm not an expert after 3 months so I ask questions once a month, sorry I'm such an imposition to you.
     
  7. Vato

    Vato Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If you say you know what hardmodded or softmodded means then what is this supposed to mean?!?

    I still think you don't know what you are talking about, because if you did it would be easy to find out and answer this question yourself.
     
  8. Wyattspop

    Wyattspop Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    28
    You're absolutely corect Vato, I don't know what I'm talking about. So every 4-6 weeks I ask the kind folks at AD to help me out when I can't figure it out on my own. Good people such as yourself help technically-challenged guys like me, maybe one day I'll help someone who knows even less, it's the circle of life baby.
    I paid the guy who modded my first Wii to do my second, gave him another HDD to do it.
    When I hooked up the 2nd Wii it showed no HB menu and the HDD didn't have my games on it. Last week I plugged the HDD into my lappie and opened WBFS Mgr and voila, my games were there. So now I'm trying to figure out if he did in fact mod the 2nd Wii since he did back-up my games for it, but the absence of an SD card makes me think he didn't. I suppose he could have put the files on the HDD but I don't know...I'll mod it myself if I have to but I wanted to be sure it wasn't already done. I'm not confident in my ability to mod a Wii, that's why I paid to have it done as you suggested
    Thanks
     

Share This Page