1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wii update and modchips

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by kappakai, Mar 5, 2007.

  1. kappakai

    kappakai Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Do Wii Update and Modchips/cracked Wii's get along?

    Like I said in my previous message, I'm not quite sure what's up with my new Wii, whether it's chipped or software (pretty sure it's chipped, don't need to use a bootdisc or anything like that; system software 2.0U). Anyway... it's playing imports and Wii backups, and I would like to know if Wii update will do anything to make my Wii inoperable since it's been modified.

    Anyone know? Please advise, thanks.
     
  2. essadis

    essadis Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    it wont screw up your wii by updating with a drive chip and that is all that are out right now

    www.ps2-scene.org can comfirm my answer

    i have tried it with the cyclowiz V.1 . i installed my chip then updated it to get the vote channel
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2007
  3. kogepan32

    kogepan32 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Alright i hope i wouldnt steal the thread. But im wondering about the same thing. Im looking into the Wiikey some say you cant get any wii updates after the mod. Other say it wouldnt affect it. So where can i turn to find the exact for sure answer?

    thanks!
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2007
  4. quikamber

    quikamber Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    This is exactly what I want to know. I would like to know if there is anything that Nintendo can do that will make it so the mod chip will not work on newer games. From your post essadis, it sounds like I will be able to update the system. Is it possible that nintendo can find a way so that the mod chip will no longer work from a system update. Thanks for the help. Sorry if this has been asked before.

    Mike
     
  5. cheesy02

    cheesy02 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I suspect Nintendo will be updating hardware in their future Wii builds to prevent the current workaround.
    But any software changes they make via the Update service should either not affect, or be fixable by new software for the modchip (assuming it is upgradeable like the Wiikey).
    In other words, I don't think you have anything to worry about.
     
  6. essadis

    essadis Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i asked this on sevrel forum and i did get the ppl that said they could disable it but.

    i cant remember how this guy said it but he said they cant find DRIVE mods but if it was a different type of mod (cant remember what type) they could find it

    look at the xbox 360 and its mod chip it is a drive chip and ppl still go online and microsoft hasnt kicked anyone off for modding there system or at least not that i am aware of
     
  7. kogepan32

    kogepan32 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    So basiclly if i get it mod i better make sure it's Wiikey since im just gonna ask someone to install it for me. Then i have to disable it? before getting any updates? or will it just not be detectable?

    Sorry for all the questionings, but i want to get more info before i make the purchase :)

    THanks
     
  8. essadis

    essadis Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok well i have a wiikey that should be here today or tomorrow and my friend has NEVER up dated his and me and him were 9&10 in line when it came out.
    so i will put it in his and update it as for future updates i dout it as i said look at the xbox 360 ex.

    maybe it wont work when they come out (if they come out) with the new smaller wii because they will use a diffrent drive i will post the link to the thread i was on when they exsplaned it to

    wish me luck on my hunt
     
  9. quikamber

    quikamber Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I am a complete noob. When you say hardware, that only pertains to a new Wii System, not firmware, right? What I am gathering from your post is that throught software upgrades they can't do anything, but through advancements in the newer systems they can.

    Thanks
     
  10. kogepan32

    kogepan32 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Nice! be sure to keep us updated when u run a update on ur soon to be modded wii.
     
  11. essadis

    essadis Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    as for hardware yes because the points may change

    as it goies i have a cyclowiz in my canada wii and besides the disc speed proble in games it is all good i just think the wiikey is going to be better (becasue of cyclowiz lack of an update)
    but i will keep posted on the wiikey
     
  12. essadis

    essadis Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  13. voumv

    voumv Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Does the Wiikey run games at the normal 6x speed or is it the same problem as the cyclowiz, 2x??
     
  14. voumv

    voumv Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  15. essadis

    essadis Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yes ps2-scene has more on moding and stuff for consules plus the guys from foundmy.com go there so if you order from them you can find them on the forums when you need to ask something

    and yes the wiikey does run games at 6x there is how ever still(not as bad) a glitch in tonyhawk back-ups (when cherecter says something stupid in the corner it skips)


    i installed 3 chips yesterday. 1-cyclowiz v.1 and 2-wiikey
    the wiikey works great and yes you can go from never been updated since nov.19 and fully update it without screwing the wiikey up
    as for the cyclowiz v.1 i couldn't try the update. but i do know you can update from weather chnnel to news and vote channel for sure

    out of the chips for now i would go with the wiikey. easy to install i did wires took me 30min to do 1 wiikey 6x wire and alittle longer for the cyclowiz (all because of that reset wire i hate it)

    i am also waiting for the cyclowiz update and will try it as soon as i can trust it (not going to fry a wii when i can just go get a better chip) if the cyclowiz is updatable i will be very happy because it was a good chip.I will also put up a guide for it since i have not liked cyclowiz's guides so far

    hope this has helped if you need anymore help just post i will try my best to get the best info to you

    also if you are in calgary canada and you dont want to mod your wii yourself pm me and we can work something out



     
  16. Coke_Kid

    Coke_Kid Guest

    cant wait to get one for my wii
     

Share This Page