1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WiiD Booting NTSC Game

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by zmitha, May 25, 2007.

  1. zmitha

    zmitha Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    All
    Hope someone can help.

    My Wii has a WiiD on V2 update.
    It is a Euro Pal version console.

    I have a few backups that load the disc and then freeze with a black screen when i select Start.
    Initially i thioght it was the media and i have tried standard media, RiDisc, JVC and Verbatim.

    Backups of other games work fine. On all the media.

    These backups were downloaded as torrents as i do not have the equiptment to backup myself.

    Do you think that my WiiD has a loose connection when installed?
    Or could it be a bad torrent.

    I do not know anyone with a modded Wii. So i cant even verify if it is my Wii playing up.

    Any Help would be appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. DavGerm4

    DavGerm4 Active member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,409
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
  3. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    As DavGerm4 has stated make sure the Game is compatible with the Region Free setting of the WiiD.

    Look under NTSC(U) to PAL to see what USA games are compatible and look under PAL TO (NTSC(J) to see what Japanese games are compatible...

    http://wiki.gbatemp.net/index.php/Wii_Region_Free_Patcher_Compatibility_List#NTSC-U_.28USA.29_to_PAL

    If you still don't understand the compatibility list give us the names of the NTSC games you are trying to play and we can let you know if they are compatible.
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2007
  4. zmitha

    zmitha Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks Guys.

    Can i use a patcher on these? Also what would happen if i tried to patch an iso to PAL if it already is PAL. (Cant remember what regiong they are as i renamed all the files, that'll show me!!).

    Thanks
     
  5. zmitha

    zmitha Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sorry, what i should have said is is there a way of telling what region a disc is from the iso or disc?
     
  6. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I don't know of anyway to find out what region the game disc is unless you take note when downloading the game.

    In anycase since you have a WiiD and it is updated to version 2 then there is no need to patch the game disc with a region patcher. The Region Patcher Compatibility List we linked above are for both Patcher Programs and Region Free Modchips.

    Patcher Programs are mainly used for Modchips that do not have region free capability. WiiD has Region Free Capabilities so no need to patch with a Patching Program.

    Lets make it easier. What Games have you downloaded which you do not know the Region of them?
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2007
  7. zmitha

    zmitha Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Guys, this is wierd.

    The settings used to burn the disc matter.

    I found that using imgBurn and Verbatim at 8x boots perfect.
    Oh well it's all good now, just reburning all the games now on DVD+RW testing and then making backups onto the Verbatim.

    Thanks for all your help.
    Anyone willing to trade backups of games they own for some i own to save having to download?

    Thanks
     
  8. zmitha

    zmitha Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Guys,

    Worked out how to tell the region of a iso.
    Use Region free and this tells you the region.

    Hope it helps!!
     

Share This Page