1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WiiD Problem!

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by Sciver3, Sep 8, 2007.

  1. Sciver3

    Sciver3 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I just had my WiiD chip installed last week but so fat haven't been able to run any backup DVD!

    Here's my hardware:
    PAL Wii (RVL-001 EUR)
    S/N LEH1223
    Chipset GC2-D2B *according to WiiTracker*
    FW 3.0E *updated after WiiD installation*
    WiiD FW 02 *updated after Wii FW update*

    I use TDK DVD-R 1x-16x discs which I toast at the lowest possible speed (4x) on a NEC ND-2510A (FW 2.19) burner. Earlier on I also tried Sony DVD+R and Imation DVD-R, but most forums agree TDK DVD-R should work fine.

    My backups of all games so far end up showing a black screen with white letters telling me to eject the disc, power off the Wii and turn to the user manual.

    Until now I tried to run my backed up PAL versions of Spiderman 3, Call Of Duty 3, Mario Party 8, Prince of Persia Rival Swords, Splinter Cell Double Agent, Resident Evil 4 and a couple of others I can't remember now. They all show their Splash Screen in the Wii Menu but on booting all end up with the same message.

    I'm afraid the chip installer can't help me much because he's only interested in installing chips. He claims he's installed the chip correctly as it's running the GCOS boot disc. I can't open the Wii myself and therefore have no way of knowing whether I have the cut pins version.

    Could someone please give my some advice as to what I can try next? I ruined a lot of DVDs so far and have to play my first backup yet...

    Thanks in advance!

    Regards,
    Chris
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2007
  2. Thinone

    Thinone Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i personally would try using as different burner

    when the chip was installed did u see it actually working?
     
  3. Cogypsy

    Cogypsy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    It sounds like your chip is not hooked up right. I have seen that on some WiiD chips you have to solder the wires to the Quicksolder points in order for it to work.
     
  4. Sciver3

    Sciver3 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I've tried a different burner yesterday, same result.

    And I haven't seen it working with any Wii DVD backup; the shop only showed it booting a GCOS boot disc for running GameCube backups.
    They're stating this proves correct chip installation and functionality, but I'm not sure you can prove that by running some boot disc...
     
  5. Thinone

    Thinone Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    if it is booting gc backups then it looks like the chip is working


    i would now say either the chip has come loose or you need to try different media until u find one that works

    can you try the gcos disc again?
    do u have friends with verified working backups u could try?

    i use imgburn with maxell dvd-r 16x burnt at 4x
     
  6. Kafluke

    Kafluke Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I'd say, ditch the wiid and get a wiikey. I'm 1 for 4 on wiid installations that actually worked and haven't had a failed wiikey installation yet.
     
  7. Sciver3

    Sciver3 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm going to look for working backups or other modded Wiis...

     
  8. spawn1980

    spawn1980 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The Quicksolder don't work half the time I think you should have the installer recheck your points. And if you have the last point hooked up I think its point D not sure then do a chip reset. The only time I get that screen is if I leave my game in the system for days and start it up but thats once in a while. And make sure you have the right Firmware Upgrade.. Hope this helps
     
  9. Sciver3

    Sciver3 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    If the chip wouldn't be working, I guess my Wii wouldn't run the GCOS boot. I reset the chip and guess that worked, because for a while, the Wii didn't recognize any backup disc. After power off/power on the WiiD worked again, backup discs were recognized. Then I ran update FW02 and tried, but still the same problem... :-S

    Thanks for all tips so far!
     
  10. Menion

    Menion Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Whoa! somethings strange here... it seems somethings missing... hmm? wher the *bleep* is Larry!?!?! with a topic like "WiiD Problem!" He would have been here in 2 sec's lol (no offence larry you know we luv ya!)
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2007
  11. spawn1980

    spawn1980 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The funny thing is I was thinking the same thing where is larry. He put me on to the wiid and I love it.
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2007
  12. Sciver3

    Sciver3 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    @spawn1980

    Which media type do you use with your WiiD?

     
  13. spawn1980

    spawn1980 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    My system is not picky I use.
    TDK
    Sony
    Nexxtech
    Ritek
    Taiyo Yuden
    All DVD-R Never Tried DVD+R
     
  14. Sciver3

    Sciver3 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks! I'm going to try some other brands soon. By the end of the week I should have some backups that work on another Wii, to figure out if it's the media, my burner, the Wii, the chip...
     
  15. spawn1980

    spawn1980 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Good Luck!! And Post Back..
     
  16. dawildpep

    dawildpep Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Turn OFF WiiConnect24. None of the games you have tried to use will work again. But new game burns will. I had the same problem with Wiikey. Nintendo is defenatly starting to take notice.
     
  17. Mark187

    Mark187 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Nonsense.
     
  18. dawildpep

    dawildpep Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    This just started happening to people on the 16th sunday, I have heard this same story on 5 differnt fourms and this has worked for everyone else.
     
  19. Mark187

    Mark187 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Links?
     
  20. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Download a GC game and see if you can get it to work. If the GC game boots and works or even a GCOS boot disc does then your Modchip is properly installed.

    The WiiD could need to be updated. The 3.0E Wii update might be effecting the 2.0 WiiD Update like the Wiikey was effected. It would have been better to update before updating with the 3.0E firmware. The problem is with the limited GUI that the update has it is impossible to tell if the update has been updated or not.

    I would recommend to anyone now not to get a WiiD Modchip. I have had no issues with my WiiD and it has worked but the support is SHIT.

    They haven't updated their website for months. They have no released a new firmware update since 2.0 and they have not replied to any of the numerous e-mails I have sent to them.

    When my WiiD takes a dump I defiantly will not be buying another 1.
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2007

Share This Page