1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WiiD updating question

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by samus250, May 14, 2007.

  1. samus250

    samus250 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok, I ordered my WiiD but I have a question about updating the firmware. I had read that you need Nero to burn the Firmware Update ISO image onto the DVD. Is that true? Can't I use any other program?

    Thanks!
     
  2. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    The WiiD recommended program to burn the firmware is Nero.

    I also read a review that said ImgBurn would not recognize the update ISO.

    But I read in a another thread of someone supposedly using ImgBurn to do it and it burned and updated fine.

    I also tried to load the update ISO in ImgBurn and it did load fine. I burnt the update on a DVD-RW and the Update ISO did queue up in ImgBurn and the ISO image did burn.

    The problem is my Wii will not read the DVD-RW media that I have. So I have no idea if the update disc actually will work. But ImgBurn seemed to have burnt the disc correctly with no problem.
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2007
  3. samus250

    samus250 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    OK... Thanks. But can somebody confirm this? I just want to make sure.
     
  4. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I just read this off another site which is linked below. So evidently another thread I have found of someone else using ImgBurn to burn the update.

    http://forums.maxconsole.net/archive/index.php/t-56219.html
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2007
  5. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Guess I should have looked at the WiiD site closer. This is directly from the WiiD site...

    http://www.wiidmod.com/index.html
     
  6. samus250

    samus250 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks a lot!
     
  7. DraTs

    DraTs Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I believe imgburn is free, so the worst you can do is get it and try to burn the disk yourself. You really have nothing to lose.
     
  8. jsjazz

    jsjazz Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi folks- anyone know how to test if the Wiid chip is working, as there are no menus etc? I intsalled it according to instructions, using wired method. I updated the Wii first and turned off the connect24 as recommended before installation. Put everything back together, put in WiiPlay and it works so I don't think I've bricked the Wii. Burnt the Wiid update onto a DVDRW, put it in, got the disk not recognized message as expected. Burnt The Legend of Zelda PAL to a DVDRW first then to a DVD-R, but both come with disk not recognized. Is there any way to test if the Wiid chip is working (and this is a problem with the ISO or media) or if I have ruined the Wiid chip? Thanks in advance for any advice.
     
  9. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    What region Wii do you have?

    What media are you using? (BRAND/MANUFACTURE ID)

    What program are you using for burning the Wii games?
     
  10. jsjazz

    jsjazz Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi larrylje- was hoping you'd be around having seen your previous posts!
    PAL Wii in UK

    Datasafe DVD+RW
    Verbatim DVD-R 16X

    Burnt with Nero

    Now going to try again with ImgBurn on lowest speed setting.
     
  11. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    That would be the next thing I would have told you to do. Try ImgBurn and slow the speed down to around 4x if possible.

    If that doesn't do the job then try different media. I use Maxell DVD-R on mine. I did use Tayio Yuden but my Wii just didn't have great success with them. I also have seen a few threads of members having trouble with Verbaitm.

    I have seen a few threads of members having great successes with Maxell DVD-R so i went to those and I have had no Disc Read Errors and all are working 100%

    The update GUI for the WiiD does suck. I hope they update that in the next update release. So I'm sorry to say there is no real way to know if the WiiD is installed correctly unless you check it with a Multimeter. Or a backup Wii/Gamecube disc works.
     
  12. jsjazz

    jsjazz Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks- I'll try and get hold of some MAxells. Any advice on a suitable small homebrew/GC that I can find on t'net to test it out? I'm off to bed now cause the ImgBurn software at lowest speed is going to take about an hour to burn this iso, but I'll post back here tomorrow.
     
  13. juice381

    juice381 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Maybe someone here can better explain to me the disable and restore procedure. I have a Wiid chip and while it seems to be working I'm curious to be sure that all the features are up to par. The Wiid website need some serious updating in my opinion as most of their information is very vague. It says to hold the reset button and the power button for 3 seconds to disable the chip completely. Is that three seconds from the momment I hit the power button or three seconds from another point like the wii menu same goes for the firmware rollback? I tried to disable the chip based on whats said on the wiid site which also indicates upon restart that the chip will resume normal functionality. But when I put in a backed up disk it didnt' work as expected but after reboot it still din't work. so i figured i must have set the chip back to default requireing me to reinstall the firm ware but even after that my backups wouldn't work. Then it froze and i needed to unplug it for it to shut off and when it booted I was able to play the backups.

    Any ideas on this would greatly be appreciated.
     

Share This Page