1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wiikey - 3pins recreated but will not play wii games

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by wiitom, Jul 14, 2007.

  1. wiitom

    wiitom Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi everyone,

    First of all, I want to share the modding I've done on my NTSC Wii, serial is LU317xxxx, chip is D2B and the 3 pins were cut. I've been able to recreate the pins. Yes! The pins are back. It was a hard job, but it's clean clean clean. You can see the pix of the work with some comments:

    http://www.shorten.ws/?r=136k

    It all seamed to be working fine. I was able to load the Wiikey setup 1.2 US as a gamecube dvd. I'm also able to successfully play gamecube burned disks.

    The problem: When I try to play Mario Party 8 that I burned after using rawdump 2.0, I get an error: "An error has occured. Press the eject button and remove the disk, then turn the wii console off and refer to the operations manual for help troubleshooting"

    Arggg..what's wrong??? Is the modding I'm so proud of bad? I checked all connections with a multimeter. It all looks fine. Is it the media? I tried Verbatim DVD+R 8x and Maxell DVD-R 16x at all speeds with nero and Imgburn. I still get that error message.

    Help!
     
  2. wiitom

    wiitom Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I've been able to successfully play another game on the same media, a Maxell 16x. This means the modding is perfect.

    The problem seems to be Mario Party 8. Is it compatible with the Wiikey?
     
  3. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    If the game disc and your Wii system is both NTSC then yes Mario party 8 is compatible with the Wiikey.

    Try re-dumping the game disc. Make sure you have unscrambled the dump file before burning to disc. Burn at 4x on the Maxell DVD-R using ImgBurn.
     
  4. wiitom

    wiitom Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the reply,

    I redumped Mario Party 8 with Rawdump 2.0. It gave me a file of 4 699 979 776 bytes with an iso extention. I burned it on maxell at 4x and still the wii gives me the same error.

    The game and the Wii are NTSC US. Other wii backed up games on same media work fine.

    What's wrong???
     
  5. JmNasium

    JmNasium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Try changing the Wii DVD drive speed 2x (or was it 3x. Sorry, I can't remember)
     
  6. wiitom

    wiitom Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    It tried 3x with the setup 1.2 and it still doesnt work.
     
  7. falcon209

    falcon209 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    MP8 should work fine. I dumped mine and burned @ 4x on Memorex DVD-R. The only difference between your setup and mine is that my Wii didn't need the "surgery" yours did as my Wii is one of the older ones.

    If you can successfully play other Wii games no problem. It might not necessarily be your modchip, soldering job, media, etc. It "could" be the original copy of Mario Party 8 you tried to dump from. It could have some sort of surface defect or scratch. Try getting another "original" copy of MP8 and try again.
     
  8. wiitom

    wiitom Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for you answer,

    I think you may be right. I might be the original game that had a problem. I just downloaded a vesion from the web and I burned it and it works!

    But it still could have been Rawdump the problem. Is it possible that it creates a .iso scrambled and it still needs to be unscramble despite the right extention and right size???
     

Share This Page