1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wiikey backup loading help please!

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by ackza, Jul 12, 2007.

  1. ackza

    ackza Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I installed my Wiikey and the setup disc which I burned on a HP light scribe 16x DOES show up (like every other time I turn on the Wii) and brings me to the wiikey setup screen, but it does not let me choose any options, it just says "saving options....Done" and nothing happens after that.

    I tried to load some backups but none worked, just gives me the unrecognized disc error. Also there is a lot of clicking in the DVD drive, sometimes there is none! What should I do? I have latest firmware upgrade for the wii (before i installed WiiKey of course)

    Am I supposed to use a different WiiKey setup disc? Or go use some specific type of DVD media? My Wii is one of the first ones (I got it teh first day).

    I've been up all night and have been working on this for hours, any help would be so much appreciated!!!
     
  2. ackza

    ackza Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I just now tried using this setup disk: http://www.wiikey.cn/dl/config.1.2.rar

    It shows up, and I went into the menu and could modify things. I booted up the snes emulator to test something outa nd it freezes, and now it won't show up as a disk and gives me an error. Any idea why this type of problem where it loads sometimes but not always, might happen? Could it be a soldering issue even if the setup disc cane come up? Could maybe one or two points on the WiiKey be loose or is that not possible if the setup disc does it fact read?

    What DVD media should I get then if its my dvds?
     
  3. ackza

    ackza Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok I am sorry for the fast reply,
    but now when I attempt to configure with teh setup disc, I get a message saying "saving settings...Error"

    What could be wrong?

    Again any help would be greatly apreciated
     
  4. NDarkness

    NDarkness Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Yeaaaah, it might have to do with your media.

    Try Verbatim DVD- or + Rs and see if that'll work.
     
  5. ackza

    ackza Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Are you sure? Have you tested them out before with a wiikey?

    I might walk up to savon and get them right now they have verbatim r-'s. But what do you mean by Rs tho? R+?

    Thanks so much for the information I apreciate response to my barrage of questions, soryy about that. Is there a good irc channel for Wii repair?

    Any information would again be much apreciated!

     
  6. NDarkness

    NDarkness Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    If your burner supports both +R and -R DVDs then try both to see if one works.

    I personally use Verbatim DVD+R 8X with VideoGard and burn at 4X with ImgBurn. I have 10+ Wii games and 20+ GC games and they all work. Well there is Starfox Adventures and Eternal Darkness, but that's the Wiikey's fault for not having the GC audio fix.

    And I offer free Wii modchip installations. I already have a customer coming up in the end of the month so I'm excited to mod his.
     
  7. ackza

    ackza Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I can't find verbatim's anywhere in San Diego.

    Do you think Maxell will work at at what types of maxell's should I get? It's about the only ones I can find.
     
  8. ackza

    ackza Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey I just got some maxels and they didn't work...

    What should I do now? Just order some verbatims? What if that doesn't work?
     
  9. ackza

    ackza Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Wow Maxel's have actually worked with everything.

    Thank you so much everyone for the help! I am so relieved now. This is so simple now I see!

    Thank you much again!
     
  10. NDarkness

    NDarkness Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    What were you doing wrong lol.
     

Share This Page