1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

WiiKey problem I can't find anywhere else...

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by FamousGuy, Feb 14, 2008.

  1. FamousGuy

    FamousGuy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    OK so I just installed my WiiKey (clean soder job & all that).
    It turns on fine, and can read/play regular Wii/Gamecube discs.

    I put in the v1.9g firmware upgrade, and it loads to the regular Wii home menu. I click the disk channel, it reads it as a gamecube disc, so I play it. It goes black for a second, then resets my wii by itself (I know it resets because the "Video 4" pops up on my tv for a second), and goes back to the regular Wii home menu.

    The v1.3 config disc gives me a Disc Read Error, and tells me to turn off the system and consult the manual.

    Does this problem happen to anyone else? I've checked up on the v1.2 config disc, but it tells me to try that method to get the 1.3 disc to work AFTER i've upgraded to 1.9 firmware.

    PLEASE HELP!
     
  2. edge2121

    edge2121 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    you should try the 1.9b firmware first and see if that works. also, i had a problem with the 1.3 config, it wouldnt work for me either, same problem, but i could run 1.2 no prob. after i did 1.2, the 1.3 worked fine.
     
  3. FamousGuy

    FamousGuy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well, my main problem is in the firmware, I can't get either 1.9g or 1.9b to correctly load. The closest I've gotten is the 1.9g will load up from the channel menu when I click it, as a gamecube disc. It will then blackscreen, and then reset my Wii, and load back up to the channel screen. This happens every time I click the 1.9g disc.

    I'm burning the 1.3 hack right now, hopefully that will help. If that doesn't work, I'll go with 1.2. If THAT doesn't work, I'm out of ideas.
     
  4. FamousGuy

    FamousGuy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11

    ****************** 3:04pm EASTERN ********************

    Nothing works.

    1.9g and 1.9b both load as Gamecube discs, and restart my Wii without doing anything.

    1.9 recovery does the same thing.

    GCOS of the 1.9g gave me the Wii's Cannot Read screen, not the black one.

    Setup 1.2 and 1.3 both load as gamecube discs, but when I click "Start", it gives the black screen disc read error.

    My Wii is v3.1U.
     
  5. Kafluke

    Kafluke Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    try different media. This happens lots with bad discs. use a better brand. I use Sony DVD-R
     
  6. FamousGuy

    FamousGuy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Off to Best Buy now. I'll buy a couple stacks of a couple brands.
     
  7. Thinone

    Thinone Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i used a rewritable for the updates

    is it possible the wiikey is a clone?
     
  8. FamousGuy

    FamousGuy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    No chance. I tried Sony DVD-R and it worked on the 1.9g update, but not the first 1.3 config. I'm trying the hacked one right now, I'll let you know in a few minutes.
     
  9. FamousGuy

    FamousGuy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Disc Error 001.
    Tried with Verbatim and Memorex DL DVD+Rs.
    2.4x with ImgBurn.

    Gonna try CloneCD now. Any other suggestions?
     
  10. konakona

    konakona Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I could be wrong, but this is my guess

    If you installed Wiikey on an pretty updated Wii (3.x), the Wii drive won't read the config discs if they're not in GCOS. But you explain that the discs read as Gamecube discs, so I think you are using GCOS configs. Try downloading the GCOS 1.3 config discs, and use it to configure your Wiikey. If it loads, set "region override" to "on", then try again.

    Post your success/failure, and if it fails, I'll try to help you further.

    Oh and you need a Gamecube controller to run the GCOS config.
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2008

Share This Page