1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Will any generic HD work or must it be a custom PS2 Drive?

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by McPot, Jan 2, 2005.

  1. McPot

    McPot Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey,
    It seems like everyone has a PS2 Hard-Drive, but when I search for one on game site they don't offer to sell. Is this because its just a PC hard-drive?

    Someone told me they were unsuccessfull in getting there PC hard-drive into there ps2.

    Please help me out with my troubles.

    Thanks,
    McPot
     
  2. System_X

    System_X Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    There is an official Sony PS2 Hard Drive, However most IDE HDD will work aswell. Just depends on the fit. Try before you buy :)

    Peace & Greetz 2 all
    --------------------
     
  3. McPot

    McPot Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have an old HD and I am trying to fit it into my network adaptor but its not the same size fit..

    I mean the fit is extremely close. So close it seems as if it should work but I cant get it.

    Is this normal?

    Where do I buy the official sony hard drive? Dont say final fantasy.

    How do I know before I buy a generic hd if it will fit?

    Is the difference in fit just a little bit or is it a big one? Cause I really believe mine should work, but if the fit is only a little in difference I need to hear it from someone else.


    Get back to me,
    McPot
     
  4. Ag3ntNe0

    Ag3ntNe0 Guest

    Yeah you gotta buy FFXI along with the official sony HDD. Just go out and get a maxtor pc hardrive. They sell them at best buy or office depot.
     
  5. McPot

    McPot Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Is the fit suppose to be a perfect one?

    The maxtor drives, are they expensive? I don't want to blow the money and find out that its not going to work some how.

    I am telling you that the drive I have is very close to working. I just need to know the fit.

    Get back to me please.
     
  6. Ag3ntNe0

    Ag3ntNe0 Guest

    Yes it is supposed to be a perfect fit. The cost of a Maxtor hard drive of course depends on the amount of space it can hold. An 80 gig will cost around 85$. A 200 gig will cost about 160$. I have a maxtor so dont worry about it being a waste of money. What kind of hdd are you trying to fit anyway?
     
  7. blue200

    blue200 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have read a few threads and on various forums over the past few minutes.

    It seems as if Maxtor IDE HDD seem to be the best fit instead of using the original PS2 drive.

    If anyone can help me, please read my thread (just above this one) in the main section.

    Thanks.
     
  8. xxONExx

    xxONExx Guest

  9. jonjakjam

    jonjakjam Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    McPot,

    I recommend using Maxtor HardDrives, they fit and work perfectly with the PS2.

    I take it you have a western digital HD right?
    There is a way to hack the Network Adapter so the connecters will fit with western digital HDs but you could end up breaking your Network Adapter.

    Take a look here for more info:
    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/125085
     
  10. McPot

    McPot Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Holy Crap...
    How did you know I was trying to fit a western digital in there?

    But yes I am trying to fit one.

    Ok so I will see about getting a maxtor 120GB from compusa.

    When I get one, I have read tons of stuff about this HDLoader stuff but I am unable to figure out what people are doing. I am a complete newbie.

    Is it really difficult to fix up the hard-drive to boot games from it?

    Get back to me. And why do you guys like the maxtor better than the sony ps2 brand?

    Thanks,
    McPot
     
  11. munkyboy

    munkyboy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The 'official' sony drive is acually a re-badged Seagate drive, as Sony don't make their own hard drives.

    I can personally reccommend the Maxtor Diamondmax HDD.

    As the man with 5 penis's remarked on his underpants

    They fit like a glove.

    :O)
     
  12. blue200

    blue200 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    McPot

    Why get a 120Gb. HD Advance 2.0 supports HDD upto 200Gb which on avergae should let you store approximately 65 games (assuming 3Gb avg per game).

    Regards
     
  13. jonjakjam

    jonjakjam Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You mean 200GB plus HDs. you know you can use bigger if you want. 2 terabytes is the max though.
    I was using a 120GB, but that was way back in august before the lba patch, I switched to a 200GB once the patch for hdloader was released. 50-60 games seems about right =)
     

Share This Page