1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Will media brand help quality?

Discussion in 'DVD±R media' started by tjlmbklr, Jan 7, 2007.

  1. tjlmbklr

    tjlmbklr Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I know now that the Memorex DVD+R's are considered junk. I unfortunately found this out after I bought a 20 pack with my LG Burner. Some are now drink coasters (my mistake), and some are now movies in my DVD player. But no matter what I do to get my compression settings ideal and my quality as best as possible, I still get some blocking and faint wavy lines on the edges of people and objects (usually moving). Now I may see this, but my fiancé doesn't. I pay good money for my home theater equipment, so I want the best picture possible. I have a 50" HDTV, and have the setting's as optimal as possible. But I still notice a difference from the original DVD to the new copy. Is this something I am going to have to live with, or will new better media like Verbatim, or Taiyo make my picture quality better.
     
  2. Mort81

    Mort81 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5,921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    The media could be part or all of your problems but there are a lot of other variables too. I would definately avoid memorex and go with verbatim or taiyo yuden.

    1) What software are you using to make your backups? There are dozens of softwares available and they are not all created equil. Encoding software is superior to transcoding software but requires much more time. Dvd rebuilder with cinema craft encoder (cce) or procoder 2 are a couple of the best.

    2) How much are you compressing (%)?

    3) What speed is your media rated at and what speed are you burning at?
     
  3. MichaelP1

    MichaelP1 Guest

    even though the Taiyo Yuden and the Verbatim is the better media you will not notice a better picture with the media compared the cheap stuff like memorex being its a digtal format. the good stuff will last light years longer though.

    ok you have a few options .you can use an encoder as Mort81 mentioned to get the best picture quality out of your dvd-5 format

    another option with the dvd-5 is to do the Movie Only no extras this will help get you less compression You want to keep it under 80% with your 50" Sony set

    or what i think is the best option is to use Dual-Layer blank media on anything under 80% . the Verbatim DVD+R DL is the best out there thats what i use with clonedvd 2 + anydvd and it works great. and i have the Sony SXRD 60" set

    but keep in mind the DL media is about a 1.70 each compared the the SL being about 25 cents each but its worth it to me because of a time issue and i don't need the DLs that often doing the movie only.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 8, 2007
  4. MichaelP1

    MichaelP1 Guest

    tjlmbklr , another thing i forget to mention you will want to invest in is a Upconverting DVD Player being you said you have a nice Home Theater System.

    depending on your setup you will either want the OPPO OPDV971H DVD Player which upconverts to 1080i with an DVI output to a HDMI input. or the OPPO DV-981HD which upcoverts to 1080p with HDMI output and input. the Oppo Upconvert DVD Players are the best on the market and compare with the 850.00 Denon. i have the OPPO OPDV971H and was blown away by how much better the picture quality was with this baby on my Sony SXRD 60" with my new Yamaha RX-V2700 AV receiver. heres the link to the there site i got mine off Amazon.com being it was free shipping and there tech. support is top notch.

    http://www.oppodigital.com/products.asp

    in the mean time if you aren't using an upconvert DVD player use the component outputs with the DVD player you have to help the picture quality. shoot me back if you have any questions
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 8, 2007
  5. Mort81

    Mort81 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5,921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    MichaelP1,

    Big improvement with an upconvert dvd player huh? I've got a 52" HDTV and have been considering an upconvert dvd player. Do they make any of those that are dvd/vcr combo? I luv the picture quality of the HD channels especially football. Are you using DVI? Thanks.
     
  6. MichaelP1

    MichaelP1 Guest



    Mort yeah very big improvement. they do make a combo unit thats upconverting LG makes it but i had one and wasn't very impressed with it. but it was def an improvment ,the Oppo on the other hand makes the best on the market what makes the difference in the DCDi by Faroudja chip there use in there players its the same chip the highend 850.00 Denons use.

    the OPPO OPDV971H i have has an DVI output to a HDMI input i pass it though my Yamaha RX-V2700 then to my Sony SXRD 60" works very well
     
  7. tjlmbklr

    tjlmbklr Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well I don't have a upconverting DVD player, but I just purchased a Yamaha RX v2600, that I should be getting shipped today. That does upcoverting.
     
  8. tjlmbklr

    tjlmbklr Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I replied earlier about getting a Yamaha RX V26000. I am hoping this will do what it claims to. A nice Christmas bonus this year paid for it. The DVD player I have has to stay for now at least, and I'll expain why. I have a Sony 400 disc mega chager with a Phillips Pronto full color remote. I have dozens of hours invovled in loading the pictures of the DVD skins to have them macroed to play the movie with the touch of a button. Pretty cool I know, ok so I am bragging a little, but I love my set up!

    I've used AnyDVD with Shrink, and AnyDVD with Nero (recode2). I have gotten pretty good at shrinking the movies to the point where you put the movie in and it plays. I am even so bold as to sometimes leave out the credits. I had some movies at 100%, and a lot above 90%. I have tried setting everything to the specs that the great people of this forum suggested. As for the software CCE; is that really $2000, must be spectacular for that price!

    One more thing; I am not sure what CloneDVD does, will it be a replacment for Nero, or DVD Decrypter
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2007
  9. Mort81

    Mort81 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5,921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    You can get cce basic for $58. It uses the same encoding engine as cce SP just doesn't have all the bells and whistles that SP does. Dvd rebuilder comes with hc encoder by hanks bundled in which is a very good encoder only not as fast as cce. There is a free vs of dvd rebuider (link in my sig) or you can get the pro vs (highly recommended) for $30.

    I use dvd-rb/cce almost exclusively with reduction levels of 60 - 70% all the time, sometimes even as much as 50% and I can only very rarely distinguish my backups from the originals on my 52" hdtv. I'll never go back to using any transcoding apps (clonedvd2, dvd shrink, recode2).

    Clonedvd is another transcoding app made by slysoft, same ppl that make anydvd. It is user friendly especially for editing out unwanted material. It's faster than recode or shrink but the video quality is not as good imo. It does incorperate its own burn engine.
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2007
  10. tjlmbklr

    tjlmbklr Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    mort81; seems like you know your stuff. I am not saying others don't, but you've given me a different perspective to burning then I have gotten from others in the past few weeks. I am new to this forum and not sure how to send a PM, that's if I even can. so if you know how please PM me. I have some question regarding your last post to me. I want the best quality, with out the hefty price tag. I thought I was on the right track, now you've steered me in a completely different direction.
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2007
  11. alkohol

    alkohol Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    4,899
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    @tjlmbklr

    I agree with my buddy Mort81, I rarely use Nero Recode (if only compressions are 25% and lower) or DVD Shrink (unless I made a guide for newbies only). Especially if you're the few that owned any 50" or higher HDTV (I've noticed you owned 50" HDTV), then it's wise to go with DVD-RB Pro + CCE.

    I primarily used DVD-RB Pro + CCE SP 2.70 (anything below 75% on video quality ratio) because I have a big 55" Widescreen Sony HDTV and the quality is amazing -- yes, even on a single DVD+R backups (I mainly used Taiyo Yuden, Verbatim and Hitachi Maxell "MIJ" only) the quality still look beautiful.
     
  12. MichaelP1

    MichaelP1 Guest

    tjlmbklr, does your Sony dvd player have component outputs? if it does at least use them or you could still get the Oppo and have 2 dvd players

    iam pretty sure that model doesn't upconvert with a pass though .the RX-V1700 is the same price as the 2600 and its Yamaha new updated model plus the RX-V1700 has the HDMI inputs/outputs

    http://www.yamaha.com/yec/avreceivers/rxv_rxz.html?CTID=5000300&CNTYP=PRODUCT
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 8, 2007
  13. tjlmbklr

    tjlmbklr Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    When you say you use CCE, do you mean the "basic" one as writen buy mort81. if not I think I'll sacrifice quality insted of paying the $2000 dollar price tag.
     
  14. tjlmbklr

    tjlmbklr Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I thought it did do all that. I could be wrong though. If not I won't even open the box and send it back. The comparison chart on Yammys site show that my 2600 in the HDMI upconversion category does "(Scale to 480p/ 720p/ 1080i)", the 1700 says "(Deinterlace 480p)". The HDMI uoutput on the 1700 does however have HDMI 1.2. But if I read you correct, you're saying the 2600 is the new version of the 1700????. If so then you say that the 2700 is the answer to the pass through question; right??? is that what the HDMI 1.2 does??? Still confused, and thought I did all my research! Don't want to be pissing money down the drain, like I have a tendancy to do. I was going to put my money into my Truck, should've stuck to that plan...LOL

    Anyway I stopped at Sam's Club on my lunch break. They have Verbatim DVD+R DL 30 for a reasonable price. To change the subject a little, will these be a good choice. Is it true that if I have a compatible Burner, I should be able to fit a average movie on one of these with out having to worry about compression? I however like my "light scribe" feature. I guess I'll have to due with out it.
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2007
  15. Mort81

    Mort81 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5,921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    tjlmbklr,

    I pm'ed you. You should be able to fit any movie that is on a single one sided dvd onto a DL dvd without any compression. I would burn them at 2.4x at first and try 4x after you have made sure they play ok burned at 2.4x.

    I'm still wondering about your original question. You shouldn't be having video quality problems even though you are using dvd shrink as long as your compression is obove 90%. You never did answer my question regarding rated speed of your media and the speed you are burning at. Try some verbatim dvd+r's.

    MichaelP1,

    You've got me interested in the upconverting dvd player like what you have. Where can I find more specs and pics showing the back and connectors it has? My tv doesn't have HDMI, only DVI and component interface. If it doesn't have DVI out I would need a HDMI to DVI adaptor and then RCA audio out for my tv. I also need a digital optical audio out for my 5.1 surround system. My dolby 5.1/DTS surround sound system is not audio/video only audio.
     
  16. alkohol

    alkohol Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    4,899
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    When I said; "DVD-RB Pro + CCE", I meant CCE SP 2.70 -- that's what I'm using with DVD-RB Pro. And you're right, CCE Basic is as good, but it's just doesn't have all the "bells & whistles" as CCE SP as mentioned by Mort81.

    I've tried Hanks, but it's way too slow for me. Some says ProCoder 2 is better than CCE SP 2.70, yet some says CCE SP 2.70 is better. However, there's no doubt CCE SP 2.70 is faster, perhaps, it's one of the fastest encoders out there.
     
  17. MichaelP1

    MichaelP1 Guest

    Mort81 , check oppo site and amazon.com iam pretty sure amazon has the pics

    http://www.oppodigital.com/products.asp

    http://www.amazon.com/OPPO-OPDV971H...id=1162550382/ref=sr_11_1/102-6372663-3685756

    also you can upconvert with the OPPO DV-970HD with component cables but i would go with the 971 or the 981 being it has the DCDi by Faroudja Chip this is what gives you the best picture quality its almost as good as HD guys

    also Mort Oppo tech support is great i would give them a call and have a chat with if you have any questions
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 8, 2007
  18. MichaelP1

    MichaelP1 Guest

    tjlmbklr, the RX-V1700 is the newer model compared to the 2600

    Both the RX-V1700 and the RX-V2600 have a pass though up to 1080p .Yes this is what the HDMI inputs/outputs do .the pass though is nice being you can hookup multiple components though your AV receiver like an HD-DVD player,Upcoverting DVD player ,Cable Box etc. plus it frees up your HDMI inputs to your 50"Sony so it makes you future proof. an Best Buy carries this line in there Magnolia Home Theater dept. this is wherre i got mine
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 8, 2007
  19. alkohol

    alkohol Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    4,899
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I really like the 981HD, but I think the price is a bit too high for a DVD player. I would like to get this monster, but it's only HDMI to HDMI, whereas my HDTV has DVI and Components inputs. Maybe I'll wait until it comes to around $150.

    I wonder if this thing can be hacked into region free? Now, that's what I'm talking about and yes that would be awesome.
     
  20. MichaelP1

    MichaelP1 Guest

    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 8, 2007

Share This Page