1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Will not finish burn

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by coneslayr, Feb 4, 2005.

1. coneslayr

coneslayr Member

Hello,
    I am very new to DVD burners and just received the 3520A a couple of days ago. I am using X-copy platinum to back up movies. I haven't had it finish a burn yet. I have made 6 very nice coasters so far. My system is a HP Vectra Pentium celeron 850 MHz with 128 megs of ram and a little over 10 gigs of hard disk space remaining. The DVD writer is set up as the secondary Master and a DVD-ROM is set up as the secondary slave. I am running Windows XP Pro with SP2. The movie I am trying to back up has been backed up before by a friend of mine using X-copy Platinum. I don't know anything else about his system. Would anyone know what the problem might be? I would really appreciate any help. I haven't received any error messages just told the burn stopped and to look at the log file. When I do it basically tells me the burn completed or stopped. Not much help there.
    Thanks

2. Jerry746

Jerry746 Senior member

I'm a little confused. Are you saying the movie you are trying to back up is your friends copy. If this is true, then the problem is that you can't recopy a dvd made with X copy software with X copy again. The software is designed to stop duplicate copies with itself. Howvever Any other disc copy program should be able to copy it because it is no longer encrypted. Nero, RecordNow or Roxio should do it in disc copy mode. The other possible problem is you are very close to maxing out your HD with only 10 gig left. It should work on smaller dvd5 movies but may error out on larger dvd9 movies.

Jerry

3. Rotary

Rotary Senior member

hi

good advice there from Jerry746

4. coneslayr

coneslayr Member