1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Will Sky ever add RTE Two HD to their EPG?

Discussion in 'Digital TV - UK & Europe' started by menace404, Mar 13, 2012.

  1. menace404

    menace404 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Was wondering if Sky will ever bother to do this on their Sky channel list. The channel has been available for a year and it is still not on their EPG. Anytime a HD channel in the UK becomes available they lash it up but the could not give two shits about Irish customers.
    There should not be any issues, they should encrypt it like they encrypt the current RTE channels so that there are no licensing issues with broadcasts across the UK and Western Europe.
     
  2. MICKAH

    MICKAH Active member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,764
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    98
    But isnt it only available on Soarview
     
  3. menace404

    menace404 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Already available through Saorsat on 9 degrees East, check this out:

    http://www.lyngsat.com/Eutelsat-Ka-Sat-9A.html

    To get the above service makes economic nonsense, you need a specialized LNB for the dish, point the dish in a completely different direction (hence losing all Astra28 degrees east channels and a specialised set-top sat box. My point is that Sky provide all other Irish terrestrial channels to Irish customers as a bonus. Infact, they have alot more customers than they would hope for due to RTE being on the Sky satellite services. So they should make the HD channel equally as available. My only reason is that RTE might be playing hardball to allow them to carry it.
     
  4. fintannl

    fintannl Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,834
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    48
    buy a motor and problem solved :)
     
  5. MICKAH

    MICKAH Active member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,764
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Thats what I mean its only on Soarview, cant see em handing it to Sky for feck all, to be fair, you can get these chans with the sat/dtt combo boxs.
     

Share This Page