1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

will starview pvr work in dublin ?

Discussion in 'Digital TV - United States & Canada' started by mozer, Oct 4, 2007.

  1. mozer

    mozer Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hi guys, can anyone tell me if the pvr box will work in dublin with n*l. if so what software do i need to get up and running? thanks
     
  2. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Yes it will using 4.50 firmware.
     
  3. corkboy

    corkboy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey guys, anyone got any info or are using The STARVIEW PVR Cable Box, with twin tuner & HDD ready, was looking at this and it seems to be a nice piece of kit, just wondering if it's worth the investment and if it will work in cork on ChourAss?

    Thanks
    CorkBoy
     
  4. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Yes it will work on Ch**** cable but not on MMDS. When you say HDD ready it does not mean HDD as in high def, it means you need to install a Hard Disk Drive for recording purposes.
     
  5. corkboy

    corkboy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks for the reply sc0user,

    ya i understood about the HDD and not High Def, are these starview pvr boxes as easy to maintain and update as the dbox2, have a nokia dbox2 and it's a sinch once you get the hang of it, but not sure about the starview boxes from what i've been reading.
     
  6. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Its a lot easier than the Dbox but as it is not open sourced you are reliant on the manufacturers firmware releases which can be buggy at times.
     

Share This Page