1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows 8.1 opening browser on startup.

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by Ghoul66, Jun 2, 2015.

1. Ghoul66

Ghoul66 Member

I recently purchased this computer and I'm still learning the pros and cons. It wasn't doing this at first, but now every time I start the computer it opens a browser with the MIcrosoft homepage. I do not have Microsoft set as my homepage and I didn't ask it to open this browser either. About a week ago, I set it so it would go straight to the desktop instead of that annoying start page. I'm not sure, but I believe that's when it started. This is just as annoying as the start page. How do I keep it going to the desktop instead of the start page and also get it to stop opening a browser every time I start the computer.

Specs: ASUS GL771 gaming laptop, Windows 8.1, GTX 860m, Intel I7-4710 HQ 2.50GHZ x2, 12 GB RAM, 64-bit OS.

2. 2oldGeek

2oldGeek Active member

Hold down the windows key, between crtl & alt bottom left of keyboard, then press the "r" key to get the run box.
    type msconfig in the run box and click OK..
    In System Configuration click the Startup Tab....
    Look through the list to find the browser that is starting and un-ckeck it.. then click Apply and OK..
    You may have to re-boot for it to take effect...

Ghoul66 likes this.
  3. Ghoul66

Ghoul66 Member

Hmmm... I don't see a browser. Here are some screenshots so you can see what I see. I'm also not sure that it's still doing it. I don't know what I did to stop it but I was going through my startup menu a few days ago trying to get rid of whatever I don't need, maybe I deleted it without even realizing it. Untitled. Untitled2.

Last edited: Jun 6, 2015
  4. 2oldGeek

2oldGeek Active member

Maybe you did.... o_O