1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

windows media 9 messes up nero

Discussion in 'Audio' started by saqib, Mar 16, 2003.

  1. saqib

    saqib Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    before i had windows media 9 installed nero could read wma's perfectly and now when i burn a wma file it says read error burn failed. can anyone help
     
  2. tigre

    tigre Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    So you extract audio from CD and encode with WMP9 (to .wma)? Your nero doesn't support the new wma9 format, only older versions. Have a look at Nero hompage if there's an upgrade (either Nero itself or a plugin).

    Anyway, it sounds like you burn audio CDs (for playback in e.g. standalone CD players). If you use wma (lossy) to store the files on your harddisk before burning, you'll lose quality. You could use Nero to extract audio to uncompressed .wav files or you could use ExactAudioCopy (free, availabel at this site) which has superior error correction/detection fatures. A search on this forum will give you some valuable information about it too.
     
  3. cd-rw.org

    cd-rw.org Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
  4. saqib

    saqib Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    no i use media jukebox 8 to convert to wma
    and ever since i installed windows media 9 player nero cant read the files
     
  5. tigre

    tigre Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I don't know media jukebox, but the only reason for your problem I can think of is still similar to what I wrote before: Installing WMP9 installs new windows media audio compression codecs (Version 9) to your system. If media jukebox uses these codecs for compressing the reason for nero's problems lies still here. If this problem exists also with wma files you created before installing WMP9, it's something else, but I cant tell you what. (Well, maybe it might have to do something with Digital Rights Management, but this is just guessing.) If none of the advices you were already given has helped, you could try re-installing Nero (just guessing again).
     
  6. tigre

    tigre Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  7. saqib

    saqib Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    so where do i put the plugin once i have unzipped and thanks for the replys
     
  8. tigre

    tigre Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    From http://neroplugins.cd-rw.org/ - first line under the plugin table:

     
  9. SadJoker

    SadJoker Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Why even bother using WMA at all? Winblows Media Player 9 has been nothing but a PITA for Me.. POS decided it didnt wanna play nicely With NeroMix or UltraPlayer not to mention its constant need for upgraded codecs.. personally I would use EAC to rip tracks right to MP3 or iffen you REALLY want to have Harddrive space hogging wavs/WMA's floating around, convert the MP3 to wav/wma then burn it
     
  10. cd-rw.org

    cd-rw.org Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    WMA->MP3 conversion hurts the sound quality significantly.

    Yes, I also wonder who actually uses WMA and why on earth?
     

Share This Page