1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows XP Networking

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by DoubleOH7, Dec 29, 2004.

  1. DoubleOH7

    DoubleOH7 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello, I've got one laptop connected via 802.11g and a wired desktop. When I try and connect to my Desktop from the Laptop, I get a password prompt. I don't know what the password is, and if I had entered one, I would have used the same password I always use. Is there a way to reset the password, or even to see what it is?
     
  2. vato_loco

    vato_loco Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well what that is, is the most fuckd up thing in XP:

    you can try this:

    1. go into ur NETWORK CONNECTIONS in the control pannel
    2. once in NETWORK CONN. you want to "set-up a home or
    small office network"
    3. follow the instructions... do that on both systems..
    4. then right-click on "My Computer" go to properties
    Computer Name > then change the workgroup of the computers to the same one for example "HOME" but both must have the same workgroup name

    then restart...

    then when u want to share a file or printer, right click the file or folder and go to SHARING or in the Properties find the tab called Sharing...
    and click you do understand the sharing....(something like that its a hyperlink towards the bottom)

    then click the box share this folder on the network" and give it a name

    if that doesnt work we might wanna check the firewall settings
     
  3. ATIROCKS

    ATIROCKS Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If that doesnt work and you want to set everything back to normal(factory settings)try looking for the reset button, usually at the back of the wirless router, and press it and try everything all over again.
     
  4. rroettger

    rroettger Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Check your manual. On a D-link router, the set up will ask for a password. You can leave it blank (which I would not recommend) and go on to the rest of the set up.
     
  5. DoubleOH7

    DoubleOH7 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ah, I just forgot to run the network setup wizard after reformating my HD. Simple solution.. my bad
     

Share This Page