1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

windows XP not working

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by thecraigc, Mar 21, 2005.

  1. thecraigc

    thecraigc Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    945
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi eveyone,

    I got Windows XP Professional and installed it. But when i went to run it, it would not load. But when I went to run it on Safe Mode it worked fine. I was wondering if anyone knows how to fix this problem??

    !!thecraigc!!
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,095
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    sounds like a driver problem. how did load xp on, as an upgrade or fresh install
     
  3. thecraigc

    thecraigc Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    945
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    upgrade (it's on the one C.D.)
     
  4. venomX05

    venomX05 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Was this upgraded from a previous version of Windows?

    If it was, did it stop in mid process and you had to start over?

    My advice, redo the install from scratch, but when it loads up, boot from the cd instead of hard drive...I had the same problem, plus had to fix my bios.

    If I find the website that I used, I will definately update my response.

    But I was searching in Google, and it was something called: Bootstrike.com or something like that.

    Hope this helps!
     
  5. thecraigc

    thecraigc Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    945
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the upgrade was from windows ME to XP pro, it all instaled fine but when i went to use it it came up with 10 seconds to press any key to cancel scan or something ( i cant remember what it was ) i left it and it started to scan but then when it get to 100% nothing happened. the next time i canceled it and nothing happened.
     
  6. venomX05

    venomX05 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    thecraigc

    Anything else happening with it while it was trying to run?

     
  7. thecraigc

    thecraigc Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    945
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    no.
    (everything that happened is above)

    !!thecraigc!!
     
  8. venomX05

    venomX05 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Hey thecraigc,

    I am going to have to go with ddp on this one. I would say start with a brand new installation, instead of doing the upgrade, just do a new.

    I had the same problem with mine a couple of weeks ago. Also, with the new install, I would update all your drivers after you get it working, or better yet, if you have the original disc from the manufacturer that came with the computer. If not, then go the manufacturers website.

    All is not lost, cause the same exact thing happened.

    But once you do that, let it run the scan and if it still locks up. Write back.

    Oh btw, I would start up booting off the cd after you turn off the computer and restart it, that way you don't have to go to windows in order to do the install.

    Hope this helps you out and you get it back up and running again.
     

Share This Page